When we take a look deeper into the Bible

Restoring Creation – Toss the Box!


I had a word given to me from a tremendous woman of God. So I took it in, meditated on it, and let it sink in deep and speak to me in a way God would want it. It really stopped me in my tracks.

We think of what already exists and the brokenness of those things and we ask God to restore them. Think about that for a moment or two. We have a bad relationship and we ask God to restore us. We have a financial crisis and we ask God to bring us out of it. We have a sickness and we ask God to heal us. What if with those earthly minded requests we are restricting His power? What if we could have so much more? He is our father. If I go up and ask dad for 20 bucks, I’m probably going to get 20 bucks. But what if he was willing to give me 40?

We are so funny as a human race. We actually think we can think outside the box. But somehow to us, there is always a box – isn’t there? And we believe there is an “outside” the box. It’s like when society thought the earth was the center of the universe. We aren’t even close.

What if by asking for a fix, a repair, a restoration, we are only thinking outside the box? When what we really need is to get rid of the box and ask for a new creation?

God thinks of what could be, but it isn’t based on what is, He creates something new. He doesn’t need a beginning nor does He consider an end. He sees what was, what is, and what will be, even before it is. We can never fathom the extent of that. God doesn’t just make things look new. He CREATES new!

Genesis 1:2

“Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, …”

Look at those words again; formless …. empty .. dark. Do you have things in your life that feel like that? Look at the Message version:

” Earth was a soup of nothingness, a bottomless emptiness, an inky blackness. “

Yeah, I know I have a had a soup of nothinness, a botttomless emptiness, and inky blackness a time or two in my life. When I think about what I ask God to do with those, I feel like I didn’t have a clue. I never thought to start with nothing. I always started with whatever the current circumstance was and then colored them as empty or black. But what if I was willing to allow God to take everything back to nothing. No box in the middle to even think about? What if He didn’t take what I already had and made it better and instead just got rid of what wasn’t good, and created something completely new?

Think through whatever you are going through now. What is the box you are holding onto? Are you really willing to allow God to get rid of that box and create something new?

Isaiah 45:7:

“The One forming light and creating darkness, Causing well-being and creating calamity; I am the LORD who does all these.”

Colossians 1:16

“For by Him all things were created, both in the heavens and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities–all things have been created through Him and for Him.”

Isaiah 66:2

“For My hand made all these things, Thus all these things came into being,” declares the LORD “But to this one I will look, To him who is humble and contrite of spirit, and who trembles at My word.”

Maybe it’s time we start restoring creation as an answer to issues we have. It’s time to let God be God and stop hanging on to the old things.

2 Corinthians 5:17

” Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!”

Toss your Box!

One thought on “Restoring Creation – Toss the Box!

Leave a Reply

