When we take a look deeper into the Bible

30 Days of Praise – Day 10


Yes, I know it has been more than 10 days since I started this book. But no matter, every time I pick it back up, it is perfect timing for God to speak to me. Had a few minutes and just couldn’t get this book off my mind, so I’m like, OK! I’ll read it! And it was a message for me, right were I am.

As I was reading it, I read a few lines and wondered, “Where did that come from?” Well there it was in 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

9 … Therefore, I will all the more gladly glory in my weaknesses and infirmities, that the strength and power of Christ (the Messiah) may rest (yes, may pitch a tent over and dwell) upon me! 10 So for the sake of Christ, I am well pleased and take pleasure in infirmities, insults, hardships, persecutions, perplexities and distresses; for when I am weak [in human strength], then am I [truly] strong (able, powerful in divine strength).

It’s so funny how we take parts of scripture and use them all the time, but don’t really read them. I’m sure many know this verse about when I am weak He is strong.  But when was the last time you “more gladly gloried,” was “well pleased and take pleasure,” in any of those things? Look at them. Weaknesses, infirmities, insults, hardships, persecutions, perplexities and distresses. Really?

All this for the sake of Christ. Wow! Not going to make this one long as it seems this might be something for each of us to just chew on and hash it around with the Lord. What weaknesses are you stressing over? What infirmity are you desperately trying to get rid of? What insults do you have running around and around in your head? What hardship, persecution or distress is frustrating you? What has you perplexed? Get with Christ and ask Him if you need to be taking a little more pleasure in it.

On the flip side of that, who have you been condemning or looking down upon as they go through some of those things? What weaknesses and infirmities are you not willing to stand in someone else? Are you casting out insults and causing unnecessary hardships for others? Are you apart of persecuting or distressing someone? Although Paul was well pleased and taking pleasure in these things, I don’t think Christ would want us to be the source of them.

Give these things some thought today. I know I will.

One thought on “30 Days of Praise – Day 10

  1. I don’t know about anyone else but this was a perfect word for me today !! Thanks Marcie for sharing your heart 💞

Leave a Reply

