When we take a look deeper into the Bible

31 Days of Praise – Day 9


It’s been a bit since I had time to read through the Prayer and Praise Book. Been pretty busy with life as well as other spiritual growth related things such as Home Group and ministry at my church. But reading this today just shows you how God’s timing is always perfect. I hope you will be encouraged by this particular blog, not because of the contents, but because of the timing. Sometimes we can get discouraged and feel like we’ve failed when we set goals for ourselves and then find we get off track. Usually because of that discouragement, we never go back to trying to reach the goal. Truthfully, the only failure we have is quitting. The failure isn’t in the delay in reaching the goal.

At this very moment in my life I have several challenges I am facing. I am trying to purchase a house which needs repairs with a deadline to be out of our current home. If you’ve ever bought a house, you know it isn’t a walk in the park, and when buying one with known repairs, it can be very trying. In the midst of all this my car has broke down which puts me in a predicament because when purchasing a house you have to watch your debt ratio or risk not being able to purchase the house. Those are the two big issues, a long with several smaller issues, weighing on me at this moment. But God is faithful.

Last night and today I had this nagging feeling, ‘read the Praise Devotional, read the Praise Devotional, … Woke up at 3 am, read the Praise Devotional. Woke up at 5 am, read the Praise Devotional. Woke up at 6:30 am, read the Praise Devotional. ALRIGHT ALREADY!!! Sometimes God is a pest! So I read it:

“What do I have, that I did not receive from You?…All that I am and all that I have comes from You; it is all sustained by You…and I want it all to glorify You! Not to me, O Lord, not to me, but to Your name be the glory. I specifically thank You for:”

Are you stressed by life? Do you have pressure upon pressure on you? Do you have decisions to make, actions to take, and needs to meet which seem difficult to navigate? God is faithful.

Are you discouraged because you aren’t meeting your own expectations? Are you ready to quit because you feel like a failure? Does it seem useless to try again? God is faithful.

I’m just going to let part of Psalm 115 (Msg) say the rest. Let God’s Word speak to you as it did me this morning. Have a great day and remember, God is here, He knows, and He is faithful. Keep putting one foot in front of the other, trusting in Him alone.

1 Not for our sake, God, no, not for our sake, but for your name’s sake, show your glory. Do it on account of your merciful love, do it on account of your faithful ways. 2 Do it so none of the nations can say, “Where now, oh where is their God?” 3 Our God is in heaven doing whatever he wants to do.

4Their gods are metal and wood, handmade in a basement shop: 5 Carved mouths that can’t talk, painted eyes that can’t see, 6 Tin ears that can’t hear, molded noses that can’t smell, 7 Hands that can’t grasp, feet that can’t walk or run, throats that never utter a sound. 8 Those who make them have become just like them, have become just like the gods they trust.

9 But you, Israel: put your trust in God! – trust your Helper! trust your Ruler! 10 Clan of Aaron, trust in God! – trust your Helper! trust your Ruler! 11 You who fear God, trust in God! – trust your Helper! trust your Ruler! 12 O God, remember us and bless us, bless the families of Israel and Aaron. 13 And let God bless all who fear God – bless the small, bless the great. 14 Oh, let God enlarge your families – giving growth to you, growth to your children. 15 May you be blessed by God, by God, who made heaven and earth. 16 The heaven of heavens is for God, but he put us in charge of the earth. 17 Dead people can’t praise God – not a word to be heard from those buried in the ground.

18 But we bless God, oh yes – we bless him now, we bless him always! Hallelujah!

2 thoughts on “31 Days of Praise – Day 9

  1. Keep on giving God the praise!.. .Praise Him through the storm, my sister; .. Stay focused; Here I was wondering why people were calling to just chat… hear about my troubles; no, they were challenging my God… I wonder what He’s gona do for her today? “You still here!?” Yes IAM!… I AM GOING TO TRUST IN THE LORD UNTIL I DIE!.. When praises go up… Blessing come down!… I’m gona keep on praising the Lord… Jesus is the answer!

Leave a Reply

