When we take a look deeper into the Bible

31 Days of Praise – Day 7


Scriptures: Isaiah 55:8-11; Psalm 119:11; 2 Peter 1:20-21; 2 Timothy 3:16-17.

I love when God gives me a bouquet of flowers! My heart literally skips a beat. Do you know what that feels like? When the one you love, loves you back? Has God ever brought you a bouquet? No? Are you sure? Sometimes I find my flowers hidden in special places. I have to go looking for them. Sometimes they are like those bouquets a magician has and they just POP! right out when I least expect it. Sometimes he gives me one flower at a time, allowing me to appreciate each individual one. It’s a love affair.

If you really believe God hasn’t given you a bouquet, not to be rude, but I’d have to ask you, have you REALLY spent any time with him? Now, don’t get upset, just hear me out. If we look at how a love affair happens, it might make perfect sense to you. If you are in love with someone, but never spend time with them, do you think you would know if they had flowers waiting for you? They might just be sitting there waiting as the flowers are withering. It doesn’t mean they didn’t get you any. And if you love someone who hides little love notes for you, but you never look for them, it doesn’t mean they weren’t there does it?

So I have to ask, how much time have you spent with God? Have you looked for his love notes? Have you spent time with him so his flowers don’t wither as he waits for you? If not, you just don’t know what you are missing out on. Let me share my bouquet with you today. *hands a flower out*

First, let me assure you I did not read ahead in the book. It kind of ruins the joy of the special little surprises awaiting me. So today I read through the Praise Prayer, and this little verse jumped out at me,

I’m so grateful … You are still a communicating God, speaking these words to me as I am attentive to You, as I read and meditate with a listening heart.

My mind drifted a bit as it repeated a few words from this sentence. “I am attentive to You,” “a listening heart.” I thought, “Lord, I hope I have a listening heart.”

I continued through the rest of the prayer, meaning every word, but also thinking, “be attentive to Him,” “have a listening heart.” I finished the prayer and there, right at the end, big, bold, and beautiful was my bouquet!

IMG_20150302_223818

Maybe it doesn’t look like a flower to you, but it does to me. You see, if you read my blog yesterday, you would see I referenced 2 Timothy 3:16-17.  The blog was on Romans 12, not 2 Timothy. I don’t know, maybe I’m just a romantic at heart. But to me, it was God. He was telling me, thanks for showing me some attention yesterday and having a conversation. Thanks for having a listening heart. I may not always get it right, but this felt like God giving me some positive reinforcement.

If you don’t get it, well, I’m sorry, you just don’t get it. To me, it’s like an old married couple looking at a new couple. They have all kinds of thoughts like, “Yeah, I remember when we were like that.” Or maybe, “How ridiculous, they need to get a grip on reality.” Or even, “I wish we were like that.”

Say what you will, you can have it too if you really want it. It just takes a little effort. It takes an attentive and listening heart. The disciples got it (2 Peter 1:19-21 MSG):

We couldn’t be more sure of what we saw and heard—God’s glory, God’s voice. The prophetic Word was confirmed to us. You’ll do well to keep focusing on it. It’s the one light you have in a dark time as you wait for daybreak and the rising of the Morning Star in your hearts. The main thing to keep in mind here is that no prophecy of Scripture is a matter of private opinion. And why? Because it’s not something concocted in the human heart. Prophecy resulted when the Holy Spirit prompted men and women to speak God’s Word.

*hands over the whole bouquet* Enjoy!

Cloud 1

Leave a Reply

