Faith Up!


I’m not sure there is any word I can think of that has gotten such polar opposite responses when seen in someone. Truth be known, I think the way someone reacts to my faith, says a whole lot more about theirs than mine. Scratching your head at the moment thinking, what in the world is she talking about?!

Let’s take a look at some scriptures.

He replied, “Because you have so little faith. I tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you. “

This concept can be found in both Matthew 17:20 and 21:21. It might make it a significant point, wouldn’t you think? Now let me ask you something, if someone were standing before you, believing with great faith that a mountain was going to move, what would you honestly think about them? Come on now, be honest, know thy self people! Your reaction says a whole lot about your faith. This isn’t just anyone saying this is true, this is Jesus, and Jesus said it was true TWICE! Do you believe Him or not? “Well, but, I, um, I never saw anyone move a mountain just by saying it.” I know, me either, I guess that is why it requires faith! Just in case we don’t get what faith is, Hebrews 11:1 helps out a little bit:

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.

What would you think of someone who prayed for rain to stop? First, I think we would want to beat him because we know it means drought. However, what would you really think of a person who had such faith they prayed for rain to stop and believed it would happen? Come on, you know you would say they were a nut! Worst part is, we even have proof it can work, so we shouldn’t need a whole lot of faith. See Elijah did this very thing and one place we can read about it is in James 5.

Elijah was a human being, even as we are. He prayed earnestly that it would not rain, and it did not rain on the land for three and a half years.

We know it can be done, because it was, so why would we look at someone weirdly if they tried to do it again? Oh, wait, I didn’t tell you, the reverse happened too! Keep reading …

Again he prayed, and the heavens gave rain, and the earth produced its crops.

We have so many mountains needing moved don’t we? A healing? A miracle? A job? A breakthrough? A restoration? How do we really feel deep down inside when someone stands there, day after day, sometimes year after year, in faith, praying for the mountain to move? The rain to stop or start? What do YOU think about them? Do you try to reason their faith away? Do you try to convince them to forget about it? Do you condemn them? Do you try to give them ways to handle it themselves?

Or do you join them? Truthfully, we should probably just join them, shouldn’t we?

If you call yourself a Christian and don’t have faith – then you can’t possibly be a Christian. Being a Christian requires faith, a belief in something we haven’t seen. Do you worry about tomorrow? Do you worry about things that aren’t going your way? Why? If we call ourselves a Christian and believe that Christ is who He said He was and God is who we believe Him to be, then what is there to worry about?

In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that your faith–of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire–may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed. Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, for you are receiving the goal of your faith, the salvation of your souls. – 1 Peter 1:6-9

Wow, faith which is of greater worth than gold, GREATER WORTH!

So see, we either respond by standing in faith, believing with no proof. Or we respond with condemnation, mockery, doubt, and unbelief. Polar opposite responses. And yet, no matter what our response, it says nothing about the person standing before us, but says everything about ourselves.

What does your faith look like? Do you try to control everything, plan for everything, worry about everything? Or do you really live your life by faith? Sure of those things that you hope for and certain of those things you do not see. Is your faith proved genuine?

I think I will choose faith.  Even if my mountain is not moved, I know that I will receive the goal of my faith, the salvation of my soul! If I can trust God with that, I can trust Him with anything. And if the mountain doesn’t move, then I’m trusting in faith He has plans to help me climb over, dig under, or go around the mountain and whatever the journey looks like, it will refine me and make me be more like Him. LOL Technically, if I’m on the other side of the mountain, no matter how I got there, then the mountain moved because it will be behind me won’t it!! Ha! It’s a win-win to me.

And I will choose to stand with those who are praying for things I don’t understand. After all, it’s up to God to grant or not grant the request, who am I?

So what are you believing in faith for? Comment below so others who have faith as small as a mustard seed can join you! Come on everyone FAITH UP!

 

2 thoughts on “Faith Up!

Leave a Reply

