A Mother’s Thoughts – Day 7


I’ve been so busy with our new baby and getting ready for tomorrow that I haven’t had time to write. I am so excited and nervous about tomorrow. Tomorrow He will be circumcised according to the Law of Moses (Exodus 13:2, 22:29 and Leviticus 12).  Eight days old, hard to believe it’s been a week since I gave birth.

I am so nervous. I am sure that this circumcision is a painful thing for a baby boy. My heart aches for Him and what he will go through tomorrow. But it is something we must do. God has commanded us and it is our Abrahamic covenant with God. It will mark Jesus as being a part of this covenant.

I am excited as well as He will officially be given the name of Jesus. This is when we would have named Him normally, but since the angel had already given us His name, we knew it a head of time. Jesus … what a sweet sounding name. I’m sure Joseph will proudly stand by Jesus. He has been so understanding with all of this.

Of course, he wasn’t so understanding when I first told him I was pregnant. He was still a kind man at that point as he was going to quietly and secretly divorce me to spare me the public shame and disgrace. But an angel came to him in a dream. The angel told Joseph not to be afraid, that I had conceived this child by the Holy Spirit. The angel told Joseph to call him Jesus, for he would save His people from their sins. Joseph took me as His wife immediately and let me remain a virgin. Oh how I treasure this man.

Yes, I am sure he will be proud to stand up and call Jesus his son, even if Jesus is not bone of his bone and flesh of his flesh. God has called him to a high office, allowing Joseph to be Jesus’s earthly father. I’m sure that Joseph will walk in the way of our God. His first duty being tomorrow.

There are many preparations to be made, so I’m off. I’m sure I will need to tend to Jesus as he heals from his circumcision, not sure when I’ll have a chance to write again. So excite for what God has planned for my little one’s life!

Leave a Reply

