A Mother’s Thoughts – Day 2


As I nursed him tonight, I am considering some of the things I learned at Temple when I was younger about the Messiah that was to come. I thought of the reading from what the prophet Isaiah declared (Isaiah 7:13-14), saying the Lord Himself will give a sign, and that sign would be a virgin being with child, bearing a son … it hit me that I am that virgin! Me … it’s unbelievable to me. I know it will be hard for those around me to believe that I was a virgin … well, I still AM a virgin. There is no way for me to prove that to them, but let them think what they want, I know what is true of myself. And tonight I realized that I am the virgin that Isaiah spoke of so very long ago. I had to catch my breath when that hit me.

Then I looked down at the child, and the realization hit me. THIS is our Messiah. Oh, I’ve known it all along, but I really didn’t KNOW it until tonight. This child that I birthed, this baby that I nurse, this little boy in my arms is literally God with us – Immanuel! He is God with us in the flesh!

Then I though about what Micah said (Micah 5:2-3) about Bethlehem. Six months ago I would not have known that I would give birth in Bethlehem of all places. And yet here I am. It amazes me how God has brought us here.

How will I ever be able to raise this child, one Isaiah (Isaiah 9:6-7) called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace? How will I prepare him to shoulder a government? One which Isaiah said the increase of His government and of peace there shall be no end? How? I am just a young woman? Oh wait, as I recall the rest of that prophesy, it said, “The zeal of the Lord of hosts will perform this.” I won’t be up to me, this young virgin to carry the weight of all this. My God will.

Well, it seems He needs another diaper changed. How could such a divine being smell so bad? haha! I will remember to remind him of this when he grows up. I’ll say, “Listen here young man, you may be the Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, and Prince of Peace, but I’ve changed your stinky diaper and don’t you forget it!”

Immanuel … wow …

Leave a Reply

