The Unhidden Treasures


I’ve been doing some in depth studies spanning both the Old and New Testaments. Today, I came across something that is worth sharing. Who knows, maybe it’s something known to you, but it wasn’t to me. It, well, it just changes the way I look at several things in the Old Testament. It’s something that makes me stand in awe of God. It is something that is one of those things that has to have a huge number of odds against it ever happening if there isn’t truth to it. Bare with me as I reveal what I’ve learned by peeling back layer after layer. I’d love for you to get it before I actually give it, so that you can receive it with the awe that I did. (Now there is a sentence for sure! lol)

First I’d like to visit a few Old Testament scriptures from the Amplified version.

Psa 14:7 Oh, that the salvation of Israel would come out of Zion! When the Lord shall restore the fortunes of His people, then Jacob shall rejoice and Israel shall be glad.

Psa 20:5-6 We will [shout in] triumph at your salvation and victory, and in the name of our God we will set up our banners. May the Lord fulfill all your petitions. (6) Now I know that the Lord saves His anointed; He will answer him from His holy heaven with the saving strength of His right hand.

Psa 98:1-9 A Psalm. O SING to the Lord a new song, for He has done marvelous things; His right hand and His holy arm have wrought salvation for Him. (2) The Lord has made known His salvation; His righteousness has He openly shown in the sight of the nations. [Luke 2:30, 31.] (3) He has [earnestly] remembered His mercy and loving-kindness, His truth and His faithfulness toward the house of Israel; all the ends of the earth have witnessed the salvation of our God. [Acts 13:47; 28:28.] (4) Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth; break forth and sing for joy, yes, sing praises! (5) Sing praises to the Lord with the lyre, with the lyre and the voice of melody. (6) With trumpets and the sound of the horn make a joyful noise before the King, the Lord! (7) Let the sea roar, and all that fills it, the world, and those who dwell in it! (8) Let the rivers clap their hands; together let the hills sing for joy (9) Before the Lord, for He is coming to judge [and rule] the earth; with righteousness will He judge [and rule] the world, and the peoples with equity.

Psa 116:13 I will lift up the cup of salvation and deliverance and call on the name of the Lord.

Psa 118:19-22 Open to me the [temple] gates of righteousness; I will enter through them, and I will confess and praise the Lord. (20) This is the gate of the Lord; the [uncompromisingly] righteous shall enter through it. [Ps. 24:7.] (21) I will confess, praise, and give thanks to You, for You have heard and answered me; and You have become my Salvation and Deliverer. (22) The stone which the builders rejected has become the chief cornerstone.

Isa 12:1-6 AND IN that day you will say, I will give thanks to You, O Lord; for though You were angry with me, Your anger has turned away, and You comfort me. (2) Behold, God, my salvation! I will trust and not be afraid, for the Lord God is my strength and song; yes, He has become my salvation. (3) Therefore with joy will you draw water from the wells of salvation. (4) And in that day you will say, Give thanks to the Lord, call upon His name and by means of His name [in solemn entreaty]; declare and make known His deeds among the peoples of the earth, proclaim that His name is exalted! (5) Sing praises to the Lord, for He has done excellent things [gloriously]; let this be made known to all the earth. (6) Cry aloud and shout joyfully, you women and inhabitants of Zion, for great in your midst is the Holy One of Israel.

Isa 49:7-10 Thus says the Lord, the Redeemer of Israel, Israel’s Holy One, to him whom man rejects and despises, to him whom the nations abhor, to the servant of rulers: Kings shall see you and arise; princes, and they shall prostrate themselves, because of the Lord, Who is faithful, the Holy One of Israel, Who has chosen you. (8) Thus says the Lord, In an acceptable and favorable time I have heard and answered you, and in a day of salvation I have helped you; and I will preserve you and give you for a covenant to the people, to raise up and establish the land [from its present state of ruin] and to apportion and cause them to inherit the desolate [moral wastes of heathenism, their] heritages, [II Cor. 6:2.] (9) Saying to those who are bound, Come forth, and to those who are in [spiritual] darkness, Show yourselves [come into the light of the Sun of righteousness]. They shall feed in all the ways [in which they go], and their pastures shall be [not in deserts, but] on all the bare [grass-covered] hills. (10) They will not hunger or thirst, neither will mirage [mislead] or scorching wind or sun smite them; for He Who has mercy on them will lead them, and by springs of water will He guide them. [Rev. 7:16, 17.]

Isa 51:6-8 Lift up your eyes to the heavens, and look upon the earth beneath; for the heavens shall be dissolved and vanish away like smoke, and the earth shall wax old like a garment, and they that dwell therein shall die in like manner [like gnats]. But My salvation shall be forever, and My rightness and justice [and faithfully fulfilled promise] shall not be abolished. [Matt. 24:35; Heb. 1:11; II Pet. 3:10.] (7) Listen to Me, you who know rightness and justice and right standing with God, the people in whose heart is My law and My instruction: fear not the reproach of men, neither be afraid nor dismayed at their revilings. (8) For [in comparison with the Lord they are so weak that things as insignificant as] the moth shall eat them up like a garment, and the worm shall eat them like wool. But My rightness and justice [and faithfully fulfilled promise] shall be forever, and My salvation to all generations.

Isa 56:1 THUS SAYS the Lord: Keep justice, do and use righteousness (conformity to the will of God which brings salvation), for My salvation is soon to come and My righteousness (My rightness and justice) to be revealed. [Isa. 62:1, 11; Matt. 3:2; Luke 21:31; Rom. 13:11, 12.]

What if I told you that in every one of those passages you could find the name of Jesus? Go ahead, look back through them. Everyone of them has His name right in the passage. I know, you’re saying, sure, uh-huh, what ever you say. But you don’t really believe me or see it do you? Let’s look at some scripture from the New Testament, maybe you’ll see it there.

Mat 1:21 She will bear a Son, and you shall call His name Jesus [the Greek form of the Hebrew Joshua, which means Savior], for He will save His people from their sins [that is, prevent them from failing and missing the true end and scope of life, which is God].

Mat 1:25 But he had no union with her as her husband until she had borne her firstborn Son; and he called His name Jesus.

Rom 8:34 Who is there to condemn [us]? Will Christ Jesus (the Messiah), Who died, or rather Who was raised from the dead, Who is at the right hand of God actually pleading as He intercedes for us?

2Ti 4:1 I CHARGE [you] in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, Who is to judge the living and the dead, and by (in the light of) His coming and His kingdom:

Mar 10:39 And they replied to Him, We are able. And Jesus told them, The cup that I drink you will drink, and you will be baptized with the baptism with which I am baptized,

Joh 10:7-11  So Jesus said again, I assure you, most solemnly I tell you, that I Myself am the Door for the sheep.  (8)  All others who came [as such] before Me are thieves and robbers, but the [true] sheep did not listen to and obey them.  (9)  I am the Door; anyone who enters in through Me will be saved (will live). He will come in and he will go out [freely], and will find pasture.  (10)  The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows).  (11)  I am the Good Shepherd. The Good Shepherd risks and lays down His [own] life for the sheep. [Ps. 23.]

Joh 4:10 Jesus answered her, If you had only known and had recognized God’s gift and Who this is that is saying to you, Give Me a drink, you would have asked Him [instead] and He would have given you living water.

1Co 1:30 But it is from Him that you have your life in Christ Jesus, Whom God made our Wisdom from God, [revealed to us a knowledge of the divine plan of salvation previously hidden, manifesting itself as] our Righteousness [thus making us upright and putting us in right standing with God], and our Consecration [making us pure and holy], and our Redemption [providing our ransom from eternal penalty for sin].

Were you able to see His name in those passages? Well, duh, of course you were. Now lets go on a little language lesson together. In the New Testament we read where Mary was told to name her son, Jesus. Let’s look at the original language of all of that.

Strong’s definition: Jesus – Ιησους – Iēsous ee-ay-sooce’; Of Hebrew origin [H3091]; Jesus (that is, Jehoshua), the name of our Lord and two (three) other Israelites: – Jesus. (G2424).

Thayer Definition: Jesus = “Jehovah is salvation”

Think this through just a bit. We have a person writing in Greek (Matthew). However, would the angel have spoken Greek? Probably not, it could be guessed that the angel might have spoken Hebrew. See the note that says “of Hebrew origin?” Take a listen to Jehoshua pronounced.

In Hebrew there are several words that are related to H3091.

# 1 — Strong’s definition: יהושׁע יהושׁוּע yehôshûa‛ yehôshûa‛ – yeh-ho-shoo’-ah, yeh-ho-shoo’-ah From H3068 and H3467; Jehovah-saved; Jehoshua (that is, Joshua), the Jewish leader: – Jehoshua, Jehoshuah, Joshua. Compare H1954, H3442. (H3091) HEAR IT

# 2 — Strong’s defitition: וּע  yêshûa‛ yah-shoo’-ah For H3091; he will save; Jeshua, the name of two Israelites, also of a place in Palestine: – Jeshua. (H3442)  HEAR IT

# 3 — ישׁוּעה  yeshû‛âh yesh-oo’-aw Feminine passive participle of H3467; something saved, that is, (abstractly) deliverance; hence aid, victory, prosperity: – deliverance, health, help (-ing), salvation, save, saving (health), welfare. (H3444)  HEAR IT

Now in the Old Testament #1 is usually translated as Joshua – the actual name. So if we see that in the Old Testament, it is usually talking about a specific man.

#2 is translated as Savior. So when we see that, we automatically tend to think “Jesus”.

But #3 is translated as Salvation. Now here’s what has intrigued me. Let’s look at the Isaiah 62 passage:

Isa 62:11-12 Behold, the Lord has proclaimed to the end of the earth: Say to the Daughter of Zion, Behold, your salvation comes [in the person of the Lord]; behold, His reward is with Him, and His work and recompense before Him. [Isa. 40:10.] And they shall call them the Holy People, the Redeemed of the Lord; and you shall be called Sought Out, a City Not Forsaken.

I’ve emphasized where the #3 word is translated. It’s simply amazing. How it’s right there the whole time. The name of Jesus! Do you see it now? Answer these questions … Whose reward is it? Whose work and recompense? Is it the Lord? No. Is it the Daughter of Zion? No. Who is coming? Salvation … it is Salvation’s reward with Him and Salvation’s work and recompense before Him. Salvation doesn’t seem to be a thing, it seems to be a person. Remember, the word here is yeshû‛âh yesh-oo’-aw.  Is it coming together now??

Oh the richness of the Living Word!! We miss so much when we try to use our native tongue. We allow others to translate for us and don’t dig deep enough to find these Unhidden Treasures. They aren’t hidden to those who are digging, they’re hidden from those who don’t want to be bothered to dig. If you don’t dig, you don’t get the treasure. Even a writing like this, if you don’t read it, you won’t get the treasure. So sad.

I know very little about Hebrew. This is stuff I’ve pieced together in my amateur way. I could be way off, but I believe it is something that God has let me see and I’m thankful for it. I hope you are as excited as I am!

Look at some key things in those OT and NT scriptures I pointed out in the beginning in a different way. Where you see the word Salvation – drop in Jehoshua or Jesus.

OT: Oh, that the salvation of Israel would come out of Zion

NT: … call His name Jesus, for He will save His people from their sins

OT: We will [shout in] triumph at your salvation and victory, … the Lord saves His anointed; He will answer him from His holy heaven with the saving strength of His right hand.

NT: … Christ Jesus (the Messiah)…Who is at the right hand of God actually pleading as He intercedes for us?

OT: His right hand and His holy arm have wrought salvation for Him. (2) The Lord has made known His salvation; His righteousness has He openly shown in the sight of the nations. … for He is coming to judge [and rule] the earth; with righteousness will He judge [and rule] the world, and the peoples with equity.

NT:… Christ Jesus, Who is to judge the living and the dead, and by (in the light of) His coming and His kingdom:

OT: I will lift up the cup of salvation and deliverance and call on the name of the Lord.

NT: …  Jesus told them, The cup that I drink you will drink, and you will be baptized with the baptism with which I am baptized,

OT: Open to me the gates of righteousness; I will enter through them, and I will confess and praise the Lord. (20) This is the gate of the Lord; the [uncompromisingly] righteous shall enter through it.  … You have become my Salvation and Deliverer. (22) The stone which the builders rejected has become the chief cornerstone.

NT:  Jesus said again, …  I Myself am the Door (a portal or entrance: – door, gate.) for the sheep. …  I am the Door; anyone who enters in through Me will be saved (will live).

OT:  Behold, God, my salvation! I will trust and not be afraid, for the Lord God is my strength and song; yes, He has become my salvation. (3) Therefore with joy will you draw water from the wells of salvation.

OT:  Thus says the Lord, the Redeemer of Israel, Israel’s Holy One, … Thus says the Lord, In an acceptable and favorable time I have heard and answered you, and in a day of salvation I have helped you; … for He Who has mercy on them will lead them, and by springs of water will He guide them. [Rev. 7:16, 17.]

NT:Jesus answered her, If you had only known and had recognized God’s gift and Who this is that is saying to you, Give Me a drink, you would have asked Him [instead] and He would have given you living water.

OT: … My salvation shall be forever, and My rightness and justice [and faithfully fulfilled promise] shall not be abolished. [Matt. 24:35; Heb. 1:11; II Pet. 3:10.] (7) … But My rightness and justice [and faithfully fulfilled promise] shall be forever, and My salvation to all generations.

OT:  THUS SAYS the Lord: Keep justice, do and use righteousness (conformity to the will of God which brings salvation), for My salvation is soon to come and My righteousness (My rightness and justice) to be revealed. [Isa. 62:1, 11; Matt. 3:2; Luke 21:31; Rom. 13:11, 12.]

NT:  Christ Jesus, Whom God made … our Righteousness, and our Consecration, and our Redemption.

Can  you see it now? Can you see the Unhidden Treasures? Go look for some more, they are everywhere within the Scriptures. It’s living and it’s waiting on you to explore it, dig in it, and unearth those very valuable treasurers sprinkled through out it. Go on now, go get them!

 

One thought on “The Unhidden Treasures

Leave a Reply

