Meditation and Prayer Journey – Proverbs 27


Proverbs 27

Scripture

NIV Version,  Message VersionEnglish Standard Version (see the list of related scriptures at the bottom of the ESV page), King James Version

Amplified Version

DO NOT boast of [yourself and] tomorrow, for you know not what a day may bring forth.(A)

2Let another man praise you, and not your own mouth; a stranger, and not your own lips.

3Stone is heavy and sand weighty, but a fool’s [unreasoning] wrath is heavier and more intolerable than both of them.

4Wrath is cruel and anger is an overwhelming flood, but who is able to stand before jealousy?

5Open rebuke is better than love that is hidden.(B)

6Faithful are the wounds of a friend, but the kisses of an enemy are lavish and deceitful.

7He who is satiated [with sensual pleasures] loathes and treads underfoot a honeycomb, but to the hungry soul every bitter thing is sweet.

8Like a bird that wanders from her nest, so is a man who strays from his home.

9Oil and perfume rejoice the heart; so does the sweetness of a friend’s counsel that comes from the heart.

10Your own friend and your father’s friend, forsake them not; neither go to your brother’s house in the day of your calamity. Better is a neighbor who is near [in spirit] than a brother who is far off [in heart].

11My son, be wise, and make my heart glad, that I may answer him who reproaches me [as having failed in my parental duty].(C)

12A prudent man sees the evil and hides himself, but the simple pass on and are punished [with suffering].

13[The judge tells the creditor] Take the garment of one who is security for a stranger; and hold him in pledge when he is security for foreigners.(D)

14The flatterer who loudly praises and glorifies his neighbor, rising early in the morning, it shall be counted as cursing him [for he will be suspected of sinister purposes].

15A continual dripping on a day of violent showers and a contentious woman are alike;(E)

16Whoever attempts to restrain [a contentious woman] might as well try to stop the wind–his right hand encounters oil [and she slips through his fingers].

17Iron sharpens iron; so a man sharpens the countenance of his friend [to show rage or worthy purpose].

18Whoever tends the fig tree shall eat its fruit; so he who patiently and faithfully guards and heeds his master shall be honored.(F)

19As in water face answers to and reflects face, so the heart of man to man.

20Sheol (the place of the dead) and Abaddon (the place of destruction) are never satisfied; so [the lust of] the eyes of man is never satisfied.(G)

21As the refining pot for silver and the furnace for gold [bring forth all the impurities of the metal], so let a man be in his trial of praise [ridding himself of all that is base or insincere; for a man is judged by what he praises and of what he boasts].

22Even though like grain you should pound a fool in a mortar with a pestle, yet will not his foolishness depart from him.

23Be diligent to know the state of your flocks, and look well to your herds;

24For riches are not forever; does a crown endure to all generations?

25When the hay is gone, the tender grass shows itself, and herbs of the mountain are gathered in,

26The lambs will be for your clothing, and the goats [will furnish you] the price of a field.

27And there will be goats’ milk enough for your food, for the food of your household, and for the maintenance of your maids.

* NOTE: Other views expressed by those whose materials has been referenced here, do not necessarily reflect this author’s personal views.

Further Study

Proverb-A-Day: Chapter 27

Proverbs Spiritual Checkup

Proverbs 27:5
FRIEND OR ENEMY?

I like people and want people to like me. So to tell them that their conduct is dishonest or immoral isn’t easy for me. On several occasions, men have told me how they got out of a speeding ticket by making up a touching story, or how they got even with some rascal in a shady business deal. I’ve responded by asking, “That was clever, but was it honest?”

When I get acquainted with people and they tell me they are living immorally, I may ask, “Do you believe in God and that you must answer to Him? Or do you think we are accidents of nature with no more meaning than an insect, and that it doesn’t matter how we live?” When they express some belief in God (and almost everyone does), I’ll gently share with them what He has said about about their conduct. Many times this opens the door to present the good news of salvation.

Ahab called Elijah an enemy (1 Ki. 21:20). But he was wrong. The prophet was really his best earthly friend. If only he would have listened to God’s servant, he could have been a good king and a child of God.

Lord, help us to be loving as we confront people with their sin. And help us to see that those who point out our sins are not our enemies but our true friends. –H V Lugt  (Our Daily Bread, Copyright RBC Ministries, Grand Rapids, MI. Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved)

True friends will say what’s kind and true,
Though it may cause us pain;
They’re thinking of what’s good for us
And all we stand to gain. –DJD

Proverbs 27:6a 

The Rebuke From A Friend

Never will I forget the rebuke I received from a friend when I was 17. He walked into the back of the butcher shop where I worked and saw me laughing at an indecent cartoon. He said he had admired my Christian character, and was surprised that I would laugh at something sinful and degrading. Instantly a wave of embarrassment swept over me. I shamefully admitted that I had sinned.


It’s not pleasant to be rebuked, nor is it easy to rebuke another person. So I can imagine that the apostle Paul didn’t like confronting Peter (Galatians 2:11). But he felt he had to, because Peter’s hypocritical behavior was hurtful and confusing to the Gentile converts at Antioch. Peter had freely eaten with them, but after some Jews from Jerusalem came to the Antioch church, he shunned the Gentiles, fearing the Jews’ disapproval. I imagine that he felt shame, but he apparently accepted the rebuke gracefully and changed his ways. He knew that Paul was a true friend who loved him. And in later years he referred to him as “our beloved brother Paul” (2 Peter 3:15).

If you must rebuke someone, do it gently. If you are rebuked, avoid an angry response. You may be getting a needed “faithful wound” from a friend.—Herbert Vander Lugt (Our Daily Bread, Copyright RBC Ministries, Grand Rapids, MI. Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved)

A friend will gently say what’s true,
Although it may cause pain;
He’s really thinking of our good
And what we stand to gain. —D. De Haan

A true friend will put a finger on your faults without rubbing them in.

Proverbs 27:24

The “What Then?” Test

From the 16th century comes a story of a probing conversation between an ambitious young man and a devout Christian named St. Philip Neri. The youth said to him excitedly, “My parents finally agreed to my studying law! “Philip asked simply, “What then?”

He replied, “Then I shall become a lawyer! “And then?” pursued Philip.“ Then I shall earn lots of money, buy a country house, get a carriage and horses, marry a beautiful woman, and lead a delightful life! “he responded.

Again Philip asked, “And then?” Then . . .”The young man began reflecting for the first time on death and eternity. He realized that he had not acknowledged God in his plans and was building his life on temporal values.

The point of this story is not that riches are wrong. But if they become our central goal, we are ignoring eternity and trusting money, not God. Jesus said it’s impossible to love both money and God (Matthew 6:24), and He warned, “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, . . . but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven”(vv.19-20).

Young and old alike must make important life-plans. But let’s keep eternity in mind by always subjecting them to the “what then?” test.—Joanie Yoder (Our Daily Bread, Copyright RBC Ministries, Grand Rapids, MI. Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved)

Shall the great Judge say, when my task is through,
That my soul had gathered some riches too?
Or shall at the last it be mine to find
That all I had worked for I had left behind? —Anon.

The true measure of our wealth is the treasure we have in heaven.

Multi Media

The Book of Proverbs as narrated by Max McLean – Proverbs 27

Commentaries

STUDIES ON PROVERBS Exposition: Proverbs

Bible commentaries: Here are a few I personally use: John Darby’s SynopsisMatthew Henry’s Concise Commentary;John Wesley’s Explanatory Notes; John Gill’s Exposition of the Bible

Bible Explained: An interactive commentary on the whole Bible.

My Reflections

Wise or Foolish? There are only two kinds of people, which one are you?

Personal pop out verses:

Proverbs 27:2

2Let another man praise you, and not your own mouth; a stranger, and not your own lips.

Proverbs 27:5

5Open rebuke is better than love that is hidden.(A)

Proverbs 27:16

16Whoever attempts to restrain [a contentious woman] might as well try to stop the wind–his right hand encounters oil [and she slips through his fingers].

Proverbs 27:22

22Even though like grain you should pound a fool in a mortar with a pestle, yet will not his foolishness depart from him.

V2 – When I read this one, I thought to myself how good it can make someone feel when another person praises them. With that came two other thoughts, why would you want to praise yourself? I can understand pointing out successes, and letting someone know about an achievement you’ve reached, but to praise myself just seems so unrewarding. The second thought was, how we tend to be quick to let someone know when they are doing something wrong, but slow to praise them. Just think of how far a word of praise can go with someone. Going to have to try to do that more often.

 

 

 

Ah so, the hidden love is because even tho we love them, we are afraid to rebuke them. When we look at it that way, it goes with other Proverbs we’ve read about raising children.

 

 

V22 – And another one of them verses – “pound a fool in a mortar with a pestle!” lol I can tell you this much, there are plenty of times when I’ve felt like doing that, how about you?! But, we can see what happens if we do – nothing … his foolishness will not depart from him.

 

Prayer

Father, I praise Your name! You are such an awesome God. I thank you for every plan you have for me. Father, I ask that you help me to take any rebuke given me through a servant of Yours and allow it to make me more like You. Let it mold me so that I can carry out Your will and bring You glory. Help me to have Your eyes to see those who deserve praise so that I can encourage them. And Father, help me to recognize those things that even tho I try to restrain them, it is useless use of my energies. Let me remember that even tho I feel like “pounding a fool in a mortar with a pestle” it accomplishes nothing. I thank you for Your words of wisdom! In Jesus Name, Amen!

Leave a Reply

