Meditation and Prayer Journey – Proverbs 20


Proverbs 20

Scripture

NIV Version,  Message VersionEnglish Standard Version (see the list of related scriptures at the bottom of the ESV page), King James Version

Amplified Version

1WINE IS a mocker, strong drink a riotous brawler; and whoever errs or reels because of it is not wise.(A)

2The terror of a king is as the roaring of a lion; whoever provokes him to anger or angers himself against him sins against his own life.

3It is an honor for a man to cease from strife and keep aloof from it, but every fool will quarrel.

4The sluggard does not plow when winter sets in; therefore he begs in harvest and has nothing.

5Counsel in the heart of man is like water in a deep well, but a man of understanding draws it out.(B)

6Many a man proclaims his own loving-kindness and goodness, but a faithful man who can find?

7The righteous man walks in his integrity; blessed (happy, fortunate, enviable) are his children after him.

8A king who sits on the throne of judgment winnows out all evil [like chaff] with his eyes.

9Who can say, I have made my heart clean, I am pure from my sin?(C)

10Diverse weights [one for buying and another for selling] and diverse measures–both of them are exceedingly offensive and abhorrent to the Lord.(D)

11Even a child is known by his acts, whether [or not] what he does is pure and right.

12The hearing ear and the seeing eye–the Lord has made both of them.

13Love not sleep, lest you come to poverty; open your eyes and you will be satisfied with bread.

14It is worthless, it is worthless! says the buyer; but when he goes his way, then he boasts [about his bargain].

15There is gold, and a multitude of pearls, but the lips of knowledge are a vase of preciousness [the most precious of all].(E)

16[The judge tells the creditor] Take the garment of one who is security for a stranger; and hold him in pledge when he is security for foreigners.

17Food gained by deceit is sweet to a man, but afterward his mouth will be filled with gravel.

18Purposes and plans are established by counsel; and [only] with good advice make or carry on war.

19He who goes about as a talebearer reveals secrets; therefore associate not with him who talks too freely.(F)

20Whoever curses his father or his mother, his lamp shall be put out in complete darkness.

21An inheritance hastily gotten [by greedy, unjust means] at the beginning, in the end it will not be blessed.(G)

22Do not say, I will repay evil; wait [expectantly] for the Lord, and He will rescue you.(H)

23Diverse and deceitful weights are shamefully vile and abhorrent to the Lord, and false scales are not good.

24Man’s steps are ordered by the Lord. How then can a man understand his way?

25It is a snare to a man to utter a vow [of consecration] rashly and [not until] afterward inquire [whether he can fulfill it].

26A wise king winnows out the wicked [from among the good] and brings the threshing wheel over them [to separate the chaff from the grain].

27The spirit of man [that factor in human personality which proceeds immediately from God] is the lamp of the Lord, searching all his innermost parts.(I)

28Loving-kindness and mercy, truth and faithfulness, preserve the king, and his throne is upheld by [the people’s] loyalty.

29The glory of young men is their strength, and the beauty of old men is their gray head [suggesting wisdom and experience].

30Blows that wound cleanse away evil, and strokes [for correction] reach to the innermost parts.


* NOTE: Other views expressed by those whose materials has been referenced here, do not necessarily reflect this author’s personal views.

Further Study

Proverb-A-Day: Chapter 18

Proverbs Spiritual Checkup

Proverbs 20:6
Tried And True

We are often disappointed by the unfaithfulness of people. A family member promises to write, but months go by without a letter. A pastor says he will visit when we are sick, but he doesn’t make it to the hospital or to our home. A friend agrees to be there for us in our bereavement but doesn’t even call. Others tell us they will pray for us but quickly forget our need. Someone promises to do an important task for us but never follows through. We ask ourselves, “Who can find a faithful man?” (Proverbs 20:6).

We can do very little about the unfaithfulness of others. But we can do a lot about our faithfulness to others. When we make a promise we must keep it. When we tell someone we will pray for them, we need to follow through and do it. When we proclaim our loyalty and love for others, we can do little things that show them we mean it.

The apostle Paul said that one fruit of the Spirit is faithfulness (Galatians 5:22). God will create in us a steadfast spirit if we take seriously what we tell others we will do for them, and if we follow through.

Ask God to make you a person whom others can count on—a person who is tried and true.—David H. Roper (Our Daily Bread, Copyright RBC Ministries, Grand Rapids, MI. Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved)

Lord, grant to me a faithfulness
In what I say and do
So others will be confident
That I will follow through. —D. De Haan

Faithfulness in little things is a great thing

Proverbs 20:27
The spirit of man is the candle of the Lord.
Meyer, F. B. Our Daily Homily

See that row of unlighted candles, standing in silver sockets, chased and wrought with wondrous skill — such are the souls of men by nature, rich in attainments and generous impulses, highly educated, perhaps, apparently fit for high and glorious work, but they have no light. They are a puzzle to themselves and others. Whilst another, who has none of their powers or advantages, casts a glow on his age, which lingers long after he has gone. He is like a common candle, but lit. The spark from God has ignited his soul.

But remember that while the candle shines with the light of God, it wastes. The slowly-dwindling length shows the amount of the inevitable expenditure. Our Lord said of the Baptist, “He was a burning and shining light.” There must be burning before there can be shining; we must suffer in order to serve. It is good to know this, for it gives purpose to pain. “I cried to Thee, O Lord, and unto Thee I made supplication. What profit is there in my blood?” What profit! If we only knew that, the pain might be borne proudly and lightly. Oh, never dare to think of blessing men, except at a cost of blood and tears, that may seem to thee as a guttering candle, the wax of which is flowing down in trickling streams, or curling up in rugged contortions!

“Therefore, O Lord, I will not fail nor falter. Nay, but I ask it; nay, but I desire— Lay on my lips thine embers of the altar, Seal with the sting, and furnish with the fire.

“Quick in a moment, infinite for ever, Send an arousal better than I pray; Give me a grace upon the faint endeavour, Souls for my hire, and Pentecost to-day.”

Multi Media

The Book of Proverbs as narrated by Max McLean – Proverbs 20

A Better Way to Live Proverbs 20:1

A Better Way to Live Proverbs 20:3

Proverbs 20:12 Illustrated

Power verse of the day: Proverbs 20:12 ~ Insight into the power twins

Commentaries

STUDIES ON PROVERBS Exposition: Proverbs

Bible commentaries: Here are a few I personally use: John Darby’s SynopsisMatthew Henry’s Concise Commentary;John Wesley’s Explanatory Notes; John Gill’s Exposition of the Bible

Bible Explained: An interactive commentary on the whole Bible.

My Reflections

Wise or Foolish

Personal pop out verses:

7The righteous man walks in his integrity; blessed (happy, fortunate, enviable) are his children after him.

18Purposes and plans are established by counsel; and [only] with good advice make or carry on war.

22Do not say, I will repay evil; wait [expectantly] for the Lord, and He will rescue you.(H)

30Blows that wound cleanse away evil, and strokes [for correction] reach to the innermost parts.

V7 – I want to have blessed children, so this verse is one I would want to look at in more depth. Let’s look at some of the words:

Righteous – tsaddı̂yq – From H6663; just: – just, lawful, righteous (man). [H663 A primitive root; to be (causatively make) right (in a moral or forensic sense): – cleanse, clear self, (be, do) just (-ice, -ify, -ify self), (be, turn to) righteous (-ness).]

Integrity – tôm – From H8552; completeness; figuratively prosperity; usually (morally) innocence: – full, integrity, perfect (-ion), simplicity, upright (-ly, -ness), at a venture.

So I need to be a lawful, just, and right woman who walks in my completeness. Hmm, ok. Gonna need the Holy Spirit for that one.

V18 – This one struck me because of the statement “with good advice make or carry on war.” Just struck me that it doesn’t say don’t make war.

V22 – Got a lot of problems with this one, although I try to do this, it can be a struggle. I wait – but I can’t say I wait expectantly, more like impatiently at times. The longer I am alive, the more I learn that God really does rescue me and He really does repay evil, it’s just a matter of learning to wait patiently for Him and His timing.

V30 – Whoa! Another one of those very tough and rough sounding verses. Just jumped out at me for those reasons.

Prayer

Lord, you are such an awesome God, always watching over and working on my behalf. There is nothing you wouldn’t do for those of us who call You Father and who walk in Your ways. Lord, I want to have blessed and happy children and I ask that the Holy Spirit work on my behalf and guide, direct, and convict me so that I will be a righteous woman, walking in my integrity. Allow me to be a witness for You and bring You Glory in that walk. Father, I thank you that you always rescue me, ALWAY. Your rescues are my testimonies, Your rescues are my witness. Please forgive me for my impatiences and my arrogance as I think I can do it better than you or quicker than you, or have better timing than You. Father, please protect me from evil and keep me from having to experience the blows and strokes that comes when walking in evil. Keep me from temptation and deliver me from evil. In Jesus Name, AMEN!!

Leave a Reply

