Meditation and Prayer Journey – Psalm 94


Psalm 94

Scripture

Mouse over to read the text right here, click to go to the source page.

NIV Version,  Message VersionEnglish Standard VersionKing James Version

Amplified Version

Psalm 94

1O LORD God, You to Whom vengeance belongs, O God, You to Whom vengeance belongs, shine forth!2Rise up, O Judge of the earth; render to the proud a fit compensation!

3Lord, how long shall the wicked, how long shall the wicked triumph and exult?

4They pour out arrogant words, speaking hard things; all the evildoers boast loftily.(A)

5They crush Your people, O Lord, and afflict Your heritage.

6They slay the widow and the transient stranger and murder the unprotected orphan.

7Yet they say, The Lord does not see, neither does the God of Jacob notice it.

8Consider and understand, you stupid ones among the people! And you [self-confident] fools, when will you become wise?

9He Who planted the ear, shall He not hear? He Who formed the eye, shall He not see?

10He Who disciplines and instructs the nations, shall He not punish, He Who teaches man knowledge?

11The Lord knows the thoughts of man, that they are vain (empty and futile–only a breath).(B)

12Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) is the man whom You discipline and instruct, O Lord, and teach out of Your law,

13That You may give him power to keep himself calm in the days of adversity, until the [inevitable] pit of corruption is dug for the wicked.

14For the Lord will not cast off nor spurn His people, neither will He abandon His heritage.

15For justice will return to the [uncompromisingly] righteous, and all the upright in heart will follow it.

16Who will rise up for me against the evildoers? Who will stand up for me against the workers of iniquity?

17Unless the Lord had been my help, I would soon have dwelt in [the land where there is] silence.

18When I said, My foot is slipping, Your mercy and loving-kindness, O Lord, held me up.

19In the multitude of my [anxious] thoughts within me, Your comforts cheer and delight my soul!

20Shall the throne of iniquity have fellowship with You–they who frame and hide their unrighteous doings under [the sacred name of] law?

21They band themselves together against the life of the [consistently] righteous and condemn the innocent to death.

22But the Lord has become my High Tower and Defense, and my God the Rock of my refuge.

23And He will turn back upon them their own iniquity and will wipe them out by means of their own wickedness; the Lord our God will wipe them out.

Related Scriptures:

There are a lot of related scriptures, take a look at some here (scroll to the bottom).

* NOTE: Other views expressed by those whose materials has been referenced here, do not necessarily reflect this author’s personal views.

Further Study

Free Bible Commentary on Psalm 94 in simple English (also in rtf)

Multi Media

Psalm 94 (with text) Dramatic Narration

My refuge/ Ryan Sorilla – Not exactly Psalm 94 but verse 22 fits with this song.

Commentaries

Matthew Henry

Jamieson, Fausset & Brown

Charles H. Spurgeon

My Reflections

I find it interesting that it was very difficult to find much on Psalm 94. Yet, I think if we were all honest with ourselves, we would have to say that we work through this Psalm many times throughout our lives. It plays out over and over and over again. We complain against some oppressor or offender. Then we reason out how God is God and if we believe that He is really God, then he must see what is going on. And how He has delivered people in the past. Then we start asking for help and realize that we truly need to depend on God. Then we remember that God is all-powerful and that he is our rock, our fortress, our protector and the avenger of the wicked.

I’m sure we can all relate to this little dance. Scripture like these are reassuring to read, it let’s us know that we are not alone in our struggles to trust God and put up with wickedness in the world.

Prayer

I’m going to let this chapter be the prayer using the Message version:

God, put an end to evil; avenging God, show your colors!
Judge of the earth, take your stand; throw the book at the arrogant.
God, the wicked get away with murder— how long will you let this go on?
They brag and boast and crow about their crimes!
They walk all over your people, God, exploit and abuse your precious people.
They take out anyone who gets in their way; if they can’t use them, they kill them.
They think, “God isn’t looking, Jacob’s God is out to lunch.”
Well, think again, you idiots, fools—how long before you get smart?
Do you think Ear-Maker doesn’t hear, Eye-Shaper doesn’t see?
Do you think the trainer of nations doesn’t correct, the teacher of Adam doesn’t know?
God knows, all right— knows your stupidity, sees your shallowness.
How blessed the man you train, God, the woman you instruct in your Word,
Providing a circle of quiet within the clamor of evil, while a jail is being built for the wicked.
God will never walk away from his people, never desert his precious people.
Rest assured that justice is on its way and every good heart put right.
Who stood up for me against the wicked? Who took my side against evil workers?
If God hadn’t been there for me, I never would have made it.
The minute I said, “I’m slipping, I’m falling,” your love, God, took hold and held me fast.
When I was upset and beside myself, you calmed me down and cheered me up.
Can Misrule have anything in common with you? Can Troublemaker pretend to be on your side?
They ganged up on good people, plotted behind the backs of the innocent.
But God became my hideout, God was my high mountain retreat,
Then boomeranged their evil back on them: for their evil ways he wiped them out,
our God cleaned them out for good.

AMEN!

Leave a Reply

