Meditation and Prayer Journey – Psalm 92


Psalm 92

Scripture

Mouse over to read the text right here, click to go to the source page.

NIV Version,  Message VersionEnglish Standard VersionKing James Version

Amplified Version

Psalm 92

A Psalm. A song for the Sabbath day.

1IT IS a good and delightful thing to give thanks to the Lord, to sing praises [with musical accompaniment] to Your name, O Most High,2To show forth Your loving-kindness in the morning and Your faithfulness by night,

3With an instrument of ten strings and with the lute, with a solemn sound upon the lyre.

4For You, O Lord, have made me glad by Your works; at the deeds of Your hands I joyfully sing.

5How great are Your doings, O Lord! Your thoughts are very deep.

6A man in his rude and uncultivated state knows not, neither does a [self-confident] fool understand this:

7That though the wicked spring up like grass and all evildoers flourish, they are doomed to be destroyed forever.

8But You, Lord, are on high forever.

9For behold, Your adversaries, O Lord, for behold, Your enemies shall perish; all the evildoers shall be scattered.

10But my horn (emblem of excessive strength and stately grace) You have exalted like that of a wild ox; I am anointed with fresh oil.

11My eye looks upon those who lie in wait for me; my ears hear the evildoers that rise up against me.

12The [uncompromisingly] righteous shall flourish like the palm tree [be long-lived, stately, upright, useful, and fruitful]; they shall grow like a cedar in Lebanon [majestic, stable, durable, and incorruptible].

13Planted in the house of the Lord, they shall flourish in the courts of our God.

14[Growing in grace] they shall still bring forth fruit in old age; they shall be full of sap [of spiritual vitality] and [rich in the] verdure [of trust, love, and contentment].

15[They are living memorials] to show that the Lord is upright and faithful to His promises; He is my Rock, and there is no unrighteousness in Him.(A

Related Scriptures:

There are a lot of related scriptures, take a look at some here (scroll to the bottom).

* NOTE: Other views expressed by those whose materials has been referenced here, do not necessarily reflect this author’s personal views.

Further Study

A Prelude to Thanksgiving – Psalm 92: 1-4 (a little over 5 min)

The Worship Minute – Psalm 92 (about a minute)

PLANTED (Encouraging Word) – Psalm 92:13 (about 4.5 minutes)

Multi Media

Note-for-note transcription of the Hebrew texts

Psalm 92 (with text) Dramatic narration

It is Good to Praise the Lord (Based on Psalm 92) (Original Song)

GIVE THANKS BY Don Moen with lyrics

Commentaries

Matthew Henry

Jamieson, Fausset & Brown

Charles H. Spurgeon (Sweet Is The Work)

My Reflections

“… how profound your thoughts! The senseless man does not know, fools do not understand, that though the wicked spring up like grass and all evildoers flourish, they will be forever destroyed …” (v 5-7)

Senseless men and fools … are you one of them? I hate to say it, but I am sometimes. *lowers head* Think about what it says there. It says that senseless men and fools don’t recognize that even though wicked men and evildoers flourish now – they will be destroyed forever. Now come on, think about it. If you look at someone who is doing evil things and are not paying for them right now, or appear to be doing really good right now and think they have it made, or it’s not fair, or something similar, you are a senseless man or a fool?? OUCH!!

I guess the next time we should look at that person with pity and realize that they will be destroyed forever. DESTROYED! Here is the definition of that word, “be destroyed, be exterminated, to be annihilated.” Some heavy words there. I like how the word forever is included – as if destroyed wasn’t bad enough, they just wanted us to realize it was a forever destroyed, not a repairable destroyed.

Guess that would give your reason to be thankful! Thankful that Jesus has covered over your sins. Thankful that you are not the evil doer or wicked person who is going to be destroyed. Praise God and Thank you Jesus!!

Prayer

Lord, I thank you for covering over me. I thank you for seeing what I needed and providing it for me. I thank you for providing payment for a debt that I could not pay. I thank you for all your creation. I thank you for being my fortress, by covering, my everything. I thank you for giving me a place to be planted. I thank you for being my Rock.

Father, I thank you for Jesus. Thank you Jesus for giving it all up for me. I thank you for suffering for me. I thank you for bearing my burdens and my sins. I thank you for your sacrifice. I thank you for dyeing to set me free. I thank you for making a home for me. I thank you for leaving me Your Spirit.

I thank you Holy Spirit for giving me guidance. I thank you for giving me comfort. I thank you for bringing me peace. I thank you for correcting me. I thank you for speaking for me. I thank you for living in me. I thank you for connecting me to the Body.

I thank you and praise you, Father, Son, and Holy Spirit – AMEN!!

Leave a Reply

