Meditation and Prayer Journey – Psalm 75


Psalm 75

Scripture

Mouse over to read the text right here, click to go to the source page.

NIV Version,  Message VersionEnglish Standard VersionKing James Version

Amplified Version

Psalm 75

To the Chief Musician; [set to the tune of] “Do Not Destroy.” A Psalm of Asaph. A song.

1WE GIVE praise and thanks to You, O God, we praise and give thanks; Your wondrous works declare that Your [a]Name is near and they who invoke Your Name rehearse Your wonders.2When the proper time has come [for executing My judgments], I will judge uprightly [says the Lord].

3When the earth totters, and all the inhabitants of it, it is I Who will poise and keep steady its pillars. Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!

4I said to the arrogant and boastful, Deal not arrogantly [do not boast]; and to the wicked, Lift not up the horn [of personal aggrandizement].

5Lift not up your [aggressive] horn on high, speak not with a stiff neck and insolent arrogance.

6For not from the east nor from the west nor from the south come promotion and lifting up.(A)

7But God is the Judge! He puts down one and lifts up another.

8For in the hand of the Lord there is a cup [of His wrath], and the wine foams and is red, well mixed; and He pours out from it, and all the wicked of the earth must drain it and drink its dregs.(B)

9But I will declare and rejoice forever; I will sing praises to the God of Jacob.

10All the horns of the ungodly also will I cut off [says the Lord], but the horns of the [uncompromisingly] righteous shall be exalted.

Related Scriptures:

There are a lot of related scriptures, take a look at some here (scroll to the bottom).

* NOTE: Other views expressed by those whose materials has been referenced here, do not necessarily reflect this author’s personal views.

Further Study

Free Bible Commentary on Psalm 75 in simple English

Multi Media

Psalm 75 (with text) – Dramatic Narration

Song written to help memorize the passage – Psalm 75

Commentaries

Matthew Henry

Jamieson, Fausset & Brown

Charles H. Spurgeon

My Reflections

We SAY we believe … we SAY we believe the Bible is God’s Word … but do we believe it all the time. Actually, I think we can, but the problems is more likely that we FORGET what God’s Word is. Take for example verse 10 “All the horns of the ungodly also will I cut off [says the Lord], but the horns of the [uncompromisingly] righteous shall be exalted.” (AMP) IF we believe it, IF we remember it – then why would we be so frustrated when it looks like the bad guys are getting ahead? I know, myself, I get very frustrated by this sometimes. Everywhere we look right now, it seems like the wrong people are running things, the wrong people have all the money, the wrong people are getting away with murder, it’s everywhere! BUT, GOD said … he will cut them off. AND HE said, he would rise up the righteous. So, really, all we have to do is be one of the righteous and in due time, we will be raised up. The hard part, at least to me, seems to be the timing of it all. Boy, it sure is hard waiting. But in the meantime …

V 9 “But I will declare and rejoice forever; I will sing praises to the God of Jacob.”  (AMP) THAT is how we are supposed to be waiting. Declaring! Rejoicing! Singing! Praising! WOOT for GOD!!! WOOT WOOT!! <big smile>

God You REIGN!!

Prayer

Lord of Lord and King of Kings – Yes you are. Lord, I am thankful that you reign. I am thankful that everything is in your hands, that you are the judge, the righteous judge. I thank you for being in control of my life, my city, my state, my country, my world! Lord, help me to remember these things, remember what Your Word says when I am frustrated. Bring Your word to my heart and my mind so that I can know that you are God and that you will make all things right. Help me to stay on a righteous path, correcting me when I being to stray, and guiding me back when I’ve lost my way. Lord – You Reign! AMEN!

One thought on “Meditation and Prayer Journey – Psalm 75

Leave a Reply

