Meditation and Prayer Journey – Psalm 42


Psalm 42 & 43

In Jewish usage, the Book of Psalms is divided into five books. I’m choosing to skip to Psalm 42, the first Psalm in the second book. I’ve also chosen to include 43 here as many see it as one manuscript.

Scripture

Mouse over to read the text right here, click to go to the source page.

Psalm 42 = NIV Version,  Message VersionEnglish Standard VersionKing James Version

Psalm 43 = NIV Version,  Message VersionEnglish Standard VersionKing James Version

Amplified Version (Chapter 43)

Psalm 42

To the Chief Musician. A skillful song, or a didactic or reflective poem, of the sons of Korah.

1AS THE hart pants and longs for the water brooks, so I pant and long for You, O God.2My inner self thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and behold the face of God?(A)

3My tears have been my food day and night, while men say to me all day long, Where is your God?

4These things I [earnestly] remember and pour myself out within me: how I went slowly before the throng and led them in procession to the house of God [like a bandmaster before his band, timing the steps to the sound of music and the chant of song], with the voice of shouting and praise, a throng keeping festival.

5Why are you cast down, O my inner self? And why should you moan over me and be disquieted within me? Hope in God and wait expectantly for Him, for I shall yet praise Him, my Help and my God.

6O my God, my life is cast down upon me [and I find the burden more than I can bear]; therefore will I [earnestly] remember You from the land of the Jordan [River] and the [summits of Mount] Hermon, from the little mountain Mizar.

7[Roaring] deep calls to [roaring] deep at the thunder of Your waterspouts; all Your breakers and Your rolling waves have gone over me.

8Yet the Lord will command His loving-kindness in the daytime, and in the night His song shall be with me, a prayer to the God of my life.

9I will say to God my Rock, Why have You forgotten me? Why go I mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?

10As with a sword [crushing] in my bones, my enemies taunt and reproach me, while they say continually to me, Where is your God?

11Why are you cast down, O my inner self? And why should you moan over me and be disquieted within me? Hope in God and wait expectantly for Him, for I shall yet praise Him, Who is the help of my countenance, and my God.

Psalm 43

1JUDGE and vindicate me, O God; plead and defend my cause against an ungodly nation. O deliver me from the deceitful and unjust man!2For You are the God of my strength [my Stronghold–in Whom I take refuge]; why have You cast me off? Why go I mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?

3O send out Your light and Your truth, let them lead me; let them bring me to Your holy hill and to Your dwelling.

4Then will I go to the altar of God, to God, my exceeding joy; yes, with the lyre will I praise You, O God, my God!

5Why are you cast down, O my inner self? And why should you moan over me and be disquieted within me? Hope in God and wait expectantly for Him, for I shall yet praise Him, Who is the help of my [sad] countenance, and my God.

Related Scriptures:

There are a lot of related scriptures, take a look at some here (scroll to the bottom).

John 7:37; I Thess 1:9, 10

* NOTE: Other views expressed by those whose materials has been referenced here, do not necessarily reflect this author’s personal views.

Further Study

Hoping in God through Seasons of Darkness_Psalm 42

  • Seasons of a tree – growth, dormancy. During dormancy the tree is prepared to withstand greater growth.
  • The sons of Korah lead the processing in praise towards the temple. But the writer is not in any shape to do that right now.
  • People are attacking him because he’s not feeling it on the inside (oppression). And he is experiencing emotions internally (depression).
  • He remembers times in the past and how he felt then and he is hoping in God.
  • Psalm teaches us how to respond to God during dark times.

Study in Hebrew

Multi Media

As The Deer PSALM 42:1 MV

Psalm 42:3-4

Psalm 42:5

Psalm 42 text to music

Psalm 42-43 is a note-for-note transcription of the cantillation symbols as found in the Hebrew texts

As the deer (saxophone instrumental) – no words, no text, just put it in because I found it to be beautiful (personal preference and it’s my blog so I can. hehe!)

Commentaries

David Guzik

Matthew Henry

Jamieson, Fausset & Brown

My Reflections

Well, my reflection on this about a week ago would have been, “I couldn’t have said it better myself.” But I have put my “hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.” By day the Lord directs his love, at night his song is with me …”

One thing about the Bible, you can turn in it and find that you are not the only one. That you are not the only one who feels, thinks, and acts they way you do. Isn’t it wonderful? It’s just how a real earthly father is to be. You can go to him and because he has years, wisdom, patience, and love – he can let you know that you are not alone and that he understands.  Since we can’t physically go to God, God has physically come to us with His Words to us. Love letters from across the miles! <smile>

Prayer

Father, thank you for reminding me that I am not alone. Thank you for letting me know that are here and you understand. Oh, Lord I thank you for sending me your love letters and timing them in such a perfect way. Yes Lord, my tears were my food day and night, but you have dried them up as you have directed your love. Thank you Father for the Son of Korah who wrote this Psalm. Thank you Father, for those who read this and feel a sense of peace in knowing they are not allow. Thank you Father for the healing of all those who are experiencing oppression and depression. Thank you for setting them free to be about your plans for their lives. Thank you Father for freeing me through the blood of Jesus Christ! Amen! and Amen!

Leave a Reply

