Meditation and Prayer Journey – Psalm 4


Psalm 4

Scripture

Mouse over to read the text right here, click to go to the source page.

NIV Version,  Message VersionEnglish Standard VersionKing James Version

Amplified Version

To the Chief Musician; on stringed instruments. A Psalm of David.

1ANSWER ME when I call, O God of my righteousness (uprightness, justice, and right standing with You)! You have freed me when I was hemmed in and enlarged me when I was in distress; have mercy upon me and hear my prayer.2O you sons of men, how long will you turn my honor and glory into shame? How long will you love vanity and futility and seek after lies? Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!

3But know that the Lord has set apart for Himself [and given distinction to] him who is godly [the man of loving-kindness]. The Lord listens and heeds when I call to Him.

4Be angry [or stand in awe] and sin not; commune with your own hearts upon your beds and be silent (sorry for the things you say in your hearts). Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!(A)

5Offer just and right sacrifices; trust (lean on and be confident) in the Lord.

6Many say, Oh, that we might see some good! Lift up the light of Your countenance upon us, O Lord.

7You have put more joy and rejoicing in my heart than [they know] when their wheat and new wine have yielded abundantly.

8In peace I will both lie down and sleep, for You, Lord, alone make me dwell in safety and confident trust.

Related Scriptures:

Ephesians 4:6

* NOTE: Other views expressed by those whose materials has been referenced here, do not necessarily reflect this author’s personal views.

Further Study

Dr. J. Vernon McGee on Psalm 3 &4 – (Dr. McGee starts teaching at 3:00; Discussion of Psalm 4 begins at about 18:40)

Better Way to LIve Psalm 4:4 – Today’s Christian Videos – short talk about Anger

Study in Hebrew

Multi Media

Scripture in Video – Video, Instrumental, Scripture text

Audio reading with text

Show Me Your Face Lord – Video, music

Petra – I Will Call Upon the Lord/Praying Man – Petra in concert (I think is how David would have done it like this – I mean, he killed a bear! lol)

Commentaries

David Guzik

Matthew Henry

Jamieson, Fausset & Brown

My Reflections

There was a lot less material to pick from when researching this Psalm. However, something I just read came to mind while listening to what I did find. I can’t remember which book I read it in, but I did write the quote down.

It’s much easier to act like a Christian than it is to react like one. Our reaction reveals who we ARE.

If anyone could write about how to act, David could. Not because he got it right all the time, but because he learned from his mistakes. He may not have reacted in the right way all the time, but when his error was brought to him, he took to heart the counsel received and changed his way. He would screw up — ‘fess up — step up — change up.  I think we make it easy on ourselves when we limit the process to screw up and then ‘fess up. It’s stepping up to the consequences and not blaming God that can be difficult. And even harder is changing up and learn from them. These are two things that David did that many of us don’t do – it might be part of what made him a man after God’s own heart.

~ Selah ~

Prayer

Father thank for hearing my call, day or night, you always answer me, give me relief and are merciful to me. Father I only wish that I would think to call upon you more instead of trying to “handle it” or “be brave” or “ignore it.” Sometimes it seems like such a long wait for your answer, yet every time, your answer comes at just the right time, in just the right place, in just the right way. I tend to get ahead of you in that, and for that I ask your forgiveness.

God, I have seen anger destroy so much, there seems to be such a high price for the sin that comes from anger, even to those mighty men of yours in the Bible. Help us to trust in you and hold our anger Lord. Help us to find your peace. Lord, you gave us anger to use for your purposes, not for our own – help us to trust you in using it for your glory.

Father, you DO fill my heart with joy and yet so many times I have allowed man to take it away. Thank you that when I hold onto your joy, that i am able to lie down and sleep in peace. Lord, I trust you with my safety, not just physically, but emotionally, mentally, and spiritually. If you are for me, who then, can be against me?

Who can show us any good? You can Lord – Amen!

Leave a Reply

