Meditation and Prayer Journey – Psalm 3


Something to think about as we continue down this journey.

“… move slowly through Scripture, prayer and reading, seeking to be formed in Christ far more than being informed about the Lord. … Information must be embraced in such a way as to initiate a deep, spiritual transaction within ourselves. Such an encounter has nothing to do with the quality of input, but rather the degree of formation that results. This takes time and requires constant openness to the Holy Spirit.” ~ Terry Wardle, “Draw Close to the Fire”

Psalm 3

Scripture

Mouse over to read the text right here, click to go to the source page.

NIV Version,  Message VersionEnglish Standard VersionKing James Version

Amplified Version

A Psalm of David. When he fled from Absalom his son.

1LORD, HOW they are increased who trouble me! Many are they who rise up against me.2Many are saying of me, There is no help for him in God. Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!

3But You, O Lord, are a shield for me, my glory, and the lifter of my head.

4With my voice I cry to the Lord, and He hears and answers me out of His holy hill. Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!

5I lay down and slept; I wakened again, for the Lord sustains me.

6I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people who have set themselves against me round about.

7Arise, O Lord; save me, O my God! For You have struck all my enemies on the cheek; You have broken the teeth of the ungodly.

8Salvation belongs to the Lord; May Your blessing be upon Your people. Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!


Related Scriptures:

There are a lot of related scriptures, go to this page and scroll to the bottom to see the references.

* NOTE: Other views expressed by those whose materials has been referenced here, do not necessarily reflect this author’s personal views.

Further Study

TD Jakes preaching on Psalm 3 (audio only)

  • Part 1 (To about 3:45 to get him beginning to speak, however, the meat starts in part 2)
  • Part 2
    • David was a mighty man of valor, chosen by God, a fighter
    • Goliath was created for David, not David for Goliath, to show the world who David really was
    • Favor is the innate ability to survive over adversity
    • Anointing is when you have less and can do more with it
  • Part 3
    • Your kindness can be mistaken for weakness
    • The anointing on David kept him going higher and higher
    • No matter how many victories you’ve had, there are still somethings that get to you – it doesn’t mean you are weak
    • The enemy knows exactly what will get to your heart
    • Sometimes its not about who wins or looses – it’s just about the fact that you HAVE to fight
  • Part 4
    • One of our greatest challenges in life is an internal warfare
  • Part 5
    • We want the Spirit of the Lord to come in and stand against things BEFORE the enemy comes in, but that isn’t what the scriptures say
    • When the enemy is talking, talk back – you may pause for a minute – SELAH – then throw your BUT into it – BUT Thou oh Lord
    • David didn’t say he wasn’t upset, or that it didn’t hurt – he said, BUT Thou oh Lord are a shield for me – you don’t need a shield if you aren’t in a fight
  • Part 6
    • The Word didn’t say the weapon wouldn’t be formed, it says it will not prosper
    • If I brag in the Lord, the enemy can not overcome
    • Sometimes it takes more than people trying to encourage you – it takes God lifting up your head
  • Part 7
    • I cried unto the Lord and got it out of my system – God hears tears
    • If David hadn’t cried he wouldn’t have gotten any rest
    • Even when I was asleep – the Lord sustained me – because it wasn’t me protecting me anyway
    • Fighting the voice in David’s own head was the problem
    • What is the Lord to you? What has he kept you from?
    • David learned not to lean on his pastors, his teachers, but to learn to encourage himself
  • Part 8

Study in Hebrew

Multi Media

Gateway College Chorale sings Psalm 3

Signs of Promise trio, of PromiseLand Church (Austin, TX) performing Psalm 3 song by Byron Cage

Animated this piece based on a reading from Psalm 3

Psalm 3 in Hebrew – wait for audio to load

Commentaries

David Guzik

Matthew Henry

Jamieson, Fausset & Brown

My Reflections

First thing that struck me about this scripture came from the fact that I read it in the Amplified version. Once again, we lose so much in translation. Just reading the word “Selah” is to ignore what the writer wants us to do. Three times in this very short passage the writer tells us to “pause, and calmly think of that.” Well, when you read it, did you?

It amazes me how God directs our paths when we let him, right down to what we read. The last three days have been very engaging for me as I’ve read through these Psalms. I feel him talking to me, as a Father speaks to a child. It is not by coincident or even choice that I chose to journey through the Psalms. Had I really given it much thought, I wouldn’t have. It was one of those things where you read what you want to read and even though I typed Psalms, I read Psalms, I heard Psalms, my mind thought Proverbs. I thought this would be a 31 day journey. Well, I’ll just say thank you Lord for providing Psalms for my journey.

Sometimes we think our enemies are all around us, but really it’s the voice inside of us that can do the most damage. If we cannot overcome that voice, then we cannot overcome anything else. It is that voice that can keep us from wanting to get out of bed, step into ministry, keep us from changing and growing … it’s that voice that is truly our biggest enemy. If we can overcome that voice by remembering who God REALLY is, then we can overcome the enemies  that are all around us on the outside too.

Prayer

Oh Lord, thank you that you are a God of deliverance. Thank you that you use the enemies against me to show who I really am, if only to show me. Thank you for delivering me from enemies, my foes, my own mind and thoughts, and my sins. Lord, the enemy comes in all shapes and sizes, and sometimes the hardest to overcome are the ones that come from inside. BUT, You are always with me and are my protection.

Father, thank you for being my shield – as I go through battles. Thank you for being my comforter and lifting my head up. Thank you for being my friend and hearing my tears. Thank you for being my hero and answering me.

Father as I’ve cried and released everything to you, I thank you for giving me rest. I thank you that you provide a new day, a new hour, a new opportunity to walk with you. “Arise, O Lord! Deliver me, O my God! Strike all my enemies,” both outside and inside, “break the teeth of the wicked.” For from you O, Lord, comes my strength, my protection, my deliverance and my blessings. To you be all the glory! Amen.

Leave a Reply

