Meditation and Prayer Journey – Psalm 1


Psalm 1

Scripture

Mouse over to read the text right here, click to go to the source page.

NIV Version,  Message Version, English Standard Version, King James Version

Amplified Version

1[a]BLESSED (HAPPY, fortunate, prosperous, and enviable) is the man who walks and lives not in the council of the ungodly [following their advice, their plans and purposes], nor stands [submissive and inactive] in the path where sinners walk, nor sits down [to relax and rest] where the scornful [and the mockers] gather.

2But his delight and desire are in the law of the Lord, and on His law (the precepts, the instructions, the teachings of God) he habitually meditates (ponders and studies) by day and by night.(A)

3And he shall be like a tree firmly planted [and tended] by the streams of water, ready to bring forth its fruit in its season; its leaf also shall not fade or wither; and everything he does shall prosper [and come to maturity].(B)

4Not so the wicked [those disobedient and living without God are not so]. But they are like the chaff [worthless, dead, without substance] which the wind drives away.

5Therefore the wicked [those disobedient and living without God] shall not stand [justified] in the judgment, nor [b]sinners in the congregation of the righteous [those who are upright and in right standing with God].

6For the Lord knows and is fully acquainted with the way of the righteous, but the way of the ungodly [those living outside God’s will] shall perish (end in ruin and come to nought).

Further Study

Casting crowns Devo: A walk through Psalm 1 and the song Slow Fade

  • Part 1 – (Slow Fade) (Galatians 6) (Q. What counsel you are allowing you to pour into your mind?)
  • Part 2 – We’ve all been at some place in this slow fade.
  • Slow Fade Teaching Video – Lead singer and youth pastor Mark Hall leads you through a lesson based on “Slow Fade.”

Hebrew Word Studies, Looking at this verse from an Hebraic perspective and a word by word examination of the Hebrew text of this verse.

Study in Hebrew

2005.12.18 sermon by Francis Chan from http://cornerstonesimi.com/ passage: Psalm 1

Multi Media

Call to worship based on Psalm 1 – Music, Video, Vocals, and Lyrics (not word for word from Bible)

Psalm 1 in Hebrew – Music, Video, and Audio reading in Hebrew

Psalm 1 Text – Instrumental Music, Video, Scripture Text

Manna Bible – Audio bible is narrated with original music to match each chapter and verse.

Blessed is the man.. (Psalms 1) – Andrew Hodkinson – Dramatize video, music, vocals

Israeli Dance Ashrej Ha ‘ ish (Psalm 1) – Dance group dances an Israeli Dance

Commentaries

Matthew Henry Commentary

Chuck Smith Sermon Notes

David Guzik Study Guide

Jamieson, Fausset & Brown Commentary

Prayer

Father, thank you for providing the scriptures to teach us how to walk. Thank you for providing level ground for us to walk on. Father I thank you that through out my life you have provided wise counsel for me to walk with. Forgive me for the times that I have followed and listened and incorporated into my life and my spirit the counsel of the wicked and unwise. Father, cleanse me of any residue and any thoughts, ideas, and words that have been spoken into me and my spirit. I plead the blood of Jesus over my life and know that He has washed me white as snow.

Lord help me not to stand in the way of a sinner. Lord, keep me moving down the path that you have chosen and set before me. Take my hand and pull me up when I try to sit in the seat of a mocker. Holy Spirit speak to me and make known to me when I begin to fall into the traps of those around me.

Father, I delight in your word and your law as it is what sets me free. Help me to hunger and thirst in mediation of your bread day and night.

Allow my fruits to be pleasing and nourishing to those around me. Do not let me bear bad fruit. Father, prune and clip off any branches that would produce bad fruit. Graft your Spirit into me so that I may bear fruit that would be pleasing and reflective of you and bring you glory. Thank you that the fruit of my labors through you will prosper and bring forth more and multiply citizens of your kingdom.

Father I pray for those who are walking in the way of the wicked. Lord I ask you to have mercy and send your Holy Spirit to share the new of Jesus Christ to gather up the chaff that is blowing away. Father I pray that those who still have time to repent be brought to the feet of Jesus and that they will ask for his blood to cover them and wash away their wickedness so that they may stand in the assembly of the righteous before your throne.

Thank you for watching over the way of the righteous and that you are always knocking and seeking after those who are wicked so that you might bring them into your righteousness. Father, I know that your desire is that none shall perish and I thank you that you have found me and made me your own.

Walking in your counsel, standing on your word, and sitting at your feet – in Jesus’s name. Amen.

 

One thought on “Meditation and Prayer Journey – Psalm 1

Leave a Reply

