Kill or be Killed – Holy Spirit or Not


I was watching the podcast of Francis Chan – Holy Spirit Part 2 – and in it, he articulates what I was saying in my post “Dead Man Walking.” Since I can not find a way to “legal” pull out a part of his sermon titled Holy Spirit – Part 2, I am going to transcribe one part of the sermon. I encourage you to watch it all for yourself at His website. Once there, you will have to scroll down to 08/05/07). Actually, I encourage to watch all 7 parts of his Holy Spirit series!

You can also view it at an unaffiliated myspace site where you can fast forward to the part I transcribed, at about 27:00 (27 minutes into it).

Quoting Francis Chan, leaving out some of his exclamations and repeated words:

In verse 38 (Acts 2) Peter replies to the people that go, What do we do? He goes, “”Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.” You see, the Holy Spirit drew them there, intrigued them, and they’re going, What in the world is this, what is going on, what does this mean? And Peter says, listen, this Jesus that you crucified, that’s what this is all about, and they’re like, Ok, what do we need to do, what do we need to do? And he goes, Ok, if you’ll repent and you get baptized, you can have the same Holy Spirit. See what’s going on here? You see that power? That can be yours. That’s the promise. You can have this. And what bugged me was like, what am I doing? How many times have I gotten on this stage, you guys hear me every week.  And I talk about, and I want to make sure everyone in here knows what this (putting hand on cross) is all about … every week I want to make sure you understand that this is about God here. And it doesn’t matter what you’ve done, how good you think you are, how evil you think you are, it doesn’t matter. God loves you and the truth is you have done things that are offensive to him. It doesn’t matter how bad it was, God still loves you. He loved you so much that he had his son die on a cross for you. Jesus on that cross, he had him who knew no sin, take your sin upon him. See Jesus took your sin upon him, he paid the penalty so that at the end of your life, if you believe, if you believe in that, then you don’t have to pay for your penalty. Christ already did. And I tell you, you can come and you can accept Jesus into your life, and you can get baptized. Baptism shows that he died and rose again in the same way that you’re dieing to that old you, your turn to a new lifestyle, you’re saying you know what, I want to follow. So I’ve shared all that. But then the verse goes on and says, and when you do that, you are going to receive the Holy Spirit of God. God, the Spirit will come into you. That is so huge.  I’m not saying I never read it, I’m not saying haven’t always believed it, I’m just saying man, I haven’t emphasized that. That is so huge. You  understand that’s the promise that God’s Spirit will come into you?

…. How many of you in this room, where you’ve thought about getting baptized. But then you think to yourself, well, I don’t want to be a hypocrite. I don’t want to be like all the hypocrites, where they get baptized, and then they live the same old life. And I want to make sure, that I’m really going to live the life first. And so when I’ve proven myself, what ever that means, whenever I feel I’ve been living the Christian life, then I’ll get baptized and then I’ll become a Christian. That doesn’t make any sense. You’re never going to pull off the Christian life. Not until the Spirit of God comes into your body. That’s your whole point.

{MY NOTE: DON’T MISS THIS —>} The point of repentance is that I’ve been living this way for so long, but man, I see Jesus, I see what he offers, I want him now. But you realize you’re powerless to do so. And that’s why the Bible says you need to get baptized, and have the Holy Spirit of God come into you and now suddenly all those sins you couldn’t get rid of before, you can do it now. You’ve got this new power. God will literally come inside of your body. And when he does that, it’s going to change everything. He’s going to absolutely change everything. Do you believe that? Do you really believe that when that Holy Spirit comes in that it’s going to be completely .. I think sometimes we get scared. Well, Francis, don’t preach the Holy Spirit too much because what if it doesn’t work for someone? Isn’t there a fear, what if they fall back and reject everything? You can’t go there.  … {then he tells about a movie …}

I feel like, we have the fear with the Holy Spirit. Like I’m going to tell someone, and I’ll be honest, this has been some of my fear, I don’t want to tell someone, ok, the Spirit’s going to come into you and he’s going to change you, because there’s a part of me that’s going, well what if he doesn’t? Then this is all a lie? And so, maybe if I just don’t say anything about his power, then I can’t loose.

{NOTE: DON’T MISS THIS —->>} But guys, that’s what faith is about, I have to believe, and I have to believe for those of your life is no different, no different, I’ve got to believe the Holy Spirit didn’t really come into you. Or you’re doing an amazing job hiding him. I mean, your able to suppress God, that’s pretty powerful. No, I’d have to say, you don’t get it. Because everything I read in that Book {pointing to the Bible} is that if the Holy Spirit really came into a person, he wold be transformed. And so it’s not that the Holy Spirit did not work, it’s that you didn’t really believe in him. And you did not really decide to turn and follow Jesus. Maybe you are still going down your path and saying, Oh yeah, I’d like a little Holy Spirit, maybe he can help me along my path. Maybe I can use it. You know, let me put him in my back pocket, like a little power I could use every now and then. Well, you know what, he’s not a power that you wield wherever you want. He’s a person, the Bible refers to him as a He and it says that we follow Him. And those who follow the Holy Spirit are the ones are going to have power to follow the Spirit and put to death the deeds of the flesh.

Romans 8:9 says, “You, however, are controlled not by the sinful nature but by the Spirit, if the Spirit of God lives in you. And if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Christ.” YOU – You believers – YOU. Literally it says you are not in the flesh to do what you want to do. That’s a very important phrase, IF anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Christ. {NOTE: This goes with my Are We Using the Key to the Gate?} It’s interesting in the Bible, one time he refers to one time as the Spirit of God and then again in the same sentence he refers to him as the Spirit of Christ. What does that tell you? Christ – God – it’s interchangeable … {he talks about how that blows his mind and he doesn’t get all of that} But what I do know, is that this verse says that if a person does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to the Spirit of Christ.

So let me ask a question, is there such thing as a Christian who does not have the Holy Spirit? No, it says right there. If you don’t have this Holy Spirit, then you don’t belong to Christ. So get rid of any theology in your head where you maybe were taught, well there are Christians, and then there are Christians with the Holy Spirit. You know, people will call and they’ll say, You know, is this a Christian church? Yeah. You know what, do you guys have the Holy Spirit in your church? And it’s like, no, we’re one of those Christian churches without the Holy Spirit. It doesn’t make sense. There is no such thing as a Christian that does not have the Holy Spirit. Now he goes on, he says, (v10) “But if Christ is in you, your body is dead because of sin, yet your spirit is alive because of righteousness.” IF, IF IF, that’s a big if. (v11) “And if the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in you, he who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit, who lives in you.” Do you understand this, YOUR spirit was dead, and now God puts his Spirit inside of you and you come alive. You see, if your spirit came alive, you would notice it. It’s been dead all this time, and now all of a sudden it’s alive. Make sure you understand, he’s not talking about a little power, not a little tweaking in your life. I’m talking about the Spirit that raised Jesus from the dead.

Imagine, imagine right now, dead body, crucified, beaten up, spear stuck in it’s side, just dead as dead can be and suddenly you see this thing rise up and walk around. The awe that you would feel. And God says, you know that kind of power, that’s inside of you now. What bugs me so much is that in the church we deal with our issues exactly the way they do in the world, with people that don’t have the Spirit. Where we’ll sit around and cry and whine and hug and go Oh, poor you, yeah, you know it stinks being me, I can’t get rid of this sin for the life of me. And I’m going, what are you talking about?

{NOTE: DON’T MISS THIS—>} So you’re saying, Yeah, you know what, God you are powerful enough to raise Jesus for the dead but my issues are bigger than that. Well that makes a lot of sense. You’ve got an amazing power, quit living as if you are powerless, the Spirit of God is inside of you, or did it even happen. Because your Spirit should be alive right now, the stuff you couldn’t do before, that’s the past. You’re a new creation now, the Spirit’s in you. And then he says this, (v12) “Therefore, brothers, we have an obligation—but it is not to the sinful nature, to live according to it.” We have an obligation – you don’t have an obligation to the old you. You can’t say as a Christian, I’m stuck, I’m obligated, I’m stuck in this sin. You don’t have that type of obligation. You’re not stuck in anything. You don’t have an obligation to be stuck in that sinful nature. But he says, you have an obligation, he says, (v13-14) “For if you live according to the sinful nature, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live, because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.” He says, you have serious power in you and now you have an obligation.

Your obligation is not to wake up in the morning and say, what do I feel like doing? And then you just go into what ever makes you feel good. He goes, if you are following that, if you are in that pattern, he says, you WILL die. What? Is he talking about physical death? Of course not, because everyone’s going to die. He goes, but if you go down this path, of just living in your sin, continuing your sin, you are headed for an eternal death. You have an obligation, that’s going to kill you. OR, you can put to death the misdeeds of the flesh, by the power of the Spirit, you can put to death … you see, very, it’s a graphic, war like term, it’s basically saying this, You either kill or be killed. Either you are going to kill, put to death your sin, or your sins going to kill you. There’s no in between here. Well, I’m just one of those Christians that walks in his sin, NO, there’s two types of people here, one who is killed by his sin, and the other who is killing his sin. It’s a picture of two fighters getting into a ring and fighting till death. ….

It’s like here’s my sin, and here’s my Spirit, so either my sin is going to kill me or I am going to put it to death. And the Bible says that the people who are led by the Spirit, they are going to put their sin to death, those are the sons of God. The other people they are that don’t have the Spirit of God, are not led by the Spirit of God and they’re going to continue and they have this obligation to their sin and they are going to die.

{NOTE DON’T MISS THIS —>} He goes, that’s why, if you see garbage in my life, if you see sin in my life, do not come over to me and give me a big hug and cry with me and say oh you poor, powerless, pitiful thing, oh, it’s ok Francis, you know what, waaa, you had a tough childhood, waa you don’t have a daddy, waaa you know, let’s think back to your childhood, NO. Look at me in the eyes, and say, Knock it off. You’re a man of God, you’ve got the Spirit that raised Jesus from the dead, now put that thing to death. Put that sin to death, you’re powerful! That’s what this passage is teaching us. {Goes with my To Judge or Not to Judge? That is the Question post}

Look, that’s the only choice you have. You can sit here and say, waaaa, waaaa, I’m enslaved by it, I can’t help it, or you go NO, I’ve got the Spirit of God, I’m going to put this thing to death. He says, if you put it to death, you’re going to live.  You let it kill you, you’re going to die. That’s all it says.

And then it very clearly says, For those who are led, remember LED, led by the Spirit of God, those are the sons of God. Led by the Spirit of God, the Spirit of God is not a lifeless power, it’s a person. He, he, he, the Bible says, he. We’re led by Him. He leads us. If you came to this church today to say, I could use a little God, that’s not what this is about. Ok? Find some other power you know. Channel something else. God says, if you want to follow me, I lead. And those that follow me, those are my kids. My kids will follow me.

And this is the most beautiful part of the whole thing. Do not miss this. Verse 15-16 “or you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship.[g] And by him we cry, “Abba,[h] Father.” The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children.” You got it? You can’t leave without getting this. The Bible teaches, and I can’t even explain it completely, but somehow, if you have the Holy Spirit of God inside of your body, the Bible says, God’s very Spirit unites with your own spirit and actually speaks to your spirit and actually there’s this relationship going on, between God’s Spirit and your spirit so that inside of you, from the very depths of your being, the very depths of your soul, you just cry out to God, ahh Daddy, Abba, Father! There’s something in you that just knows, that the Spirit somehow testifies to you, witnesses to you that God loves you like a father. And somehow it also creates this yearning in you that somewhere inside the depths of your being you just want to just cry out, the Bible says, Abba, Father. Now, I don’t have any clue how to explain it, but man, it’s happened to me.  I don’t know how to explain it for you, but when I read those verses, I go, Oh, I get that. Absolutely, something inside of me just cries out ahh, that’s my father up there, I am loved by him. It’s not a spirit of fear, he didn’t make me a spirit of slavery where I go, that’s my master, I am just a slave, you know, and he decides at the end whether he’s going to beat me or … it’s not about that.  He says, when the Spirit comes into you, there’s a spirit of sonship, there’s a spirit of security, where you just cry out Daddy, you know that God loves you and you know that you love him.   WATCH THE REST ….

One thought on “Kill or be Killed – Holy Spirit or Not

Leave a Reply

