Crazy Love – Chapter 9


This is a chapter that has to be read from the book. It’s not one to really take notes on. The title is Who Really Lives that Way? The opening scripture verse is 1 Corinthians 11:1, “follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ.”

The chapter tells of stories that are true about  people who sought to live their lives fully surrendered to God. It ends with the author stating that he hopes that the stories in this chapter do more than encourage, he hopes that they eliminate every excuse for not living a radical, love-motivated life.

This chapter did make me stop and think. It’s amazing how easy it is to get caught up in life. Thinking that you just have to have a meal, have to have clean clothes, have to have a car, so many things that you think you just have to have. Yet, there are several, not many, that know that having to have isn’t true. They have everything that they need and it is all provided for by God. In fact, many times, the more the don’t have to have, the more they have. They do not have those outward things to show off, but they have a lot on the inside that God sees and that will in the end, get them more than they could ever have time to show off.

There are some references to some websites in the book:

I wonder, could I do anything close to what those he listed did? I wonder what others would say to me if I did any of those things? Could I even stand to do those things? Then I have to wonder, what CAN I do? I’m sure there is something, I just need to figure out what it is. I WANT to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

