Crazy Love – Chapter 10


The author says, “I wrote this book because much of our talk doesn’t match our lives. We say things like, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me,” and “Trust in the Lord with all your heart.” Then we live and plan like we don’t believe God even exists.”

How true that is. We don’t live out those statements.

LOL I love this statement by the author, “A friend of mine once said that Christians are like manure: spread them out and they help everything grow better, but keep them in one big pile and they stink horribly. Which are you?”

It is also interesting that he points out how people say they are waiting for the Lord, or waiting for his call and yet, when we sit down to watch TV, do we honestly believe God called us to do that? The real truth is, I don’t give it a second thought. I just do. I cook, I clean, I talk, I facebook, I just do. I never think about whether what I am doing in my minute to minute details of life was something God wants me to be doing. I just live life as it comes. I meet each person’s demands as they are placed on me. I do what is expected of me by other people.

I have considered what God wants of me in bigger areas of my life, but never in the everday little things.  As the author points out, I need to stay focused on Jesus every day. I need to be deliberate in my pursuit and attentiveness of Christ. It is mind boggleing to think that there are thousands of beings in heaven watching as a great cloud of witnesses. Everything I do “reverberates through the heavens and into eternity,” as the author puts it.

I think the author’s statement that “Our view of the Holy Spirit is too small.” It is very interesting that the gift that Jesus left in his place is very rarely spoke about in churches. It is also interesting that He can be such a controversial topic. The Holy Spirit is the difference between a Christian and a CHRISTian. Many people can confess Jesus as the Christ, many can say they are Christian. But only true Christians will have fruits, and the fruits only come through the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit is what truly makes a CHRISTian.

Another great comment by the author, “The world needs Christians who don’t tolerate the complacency of their own lives.”

Wow … I think I am tolerate of those, now I just have to figure out how not to be.

2 thoughts on “Crazy Love – Chapter 10

  1. Marcie, I loved that comment about manure and that is so really true but when you put it in perspective of a christians life. Wow! This book was so truly on the mark and it is sad how we as christians live such faithless lives. I love reading your insights about the book and wish I had more time to digest more and conversate about it.[edited personal information out] God is in control if we allow Him. [personal information edited out] I pray that God will help me to show how we must learn to Trust God for Everything and lean on His Everlasting Arms and always be reaching out to those who need to know our Savior!Christ calls us to live a Holy life and we as christians live faithless lives because we are living through the head knowledge and not the Heart. God must do the changes in our heart only if we allow Him and then we will see that God is so much more than we could ever imagine and it is all About HIm! Then we can say I can do all things through Crist who gives me strength. Phillipians 4:13 So let’s go live Christ out loud! LCOL

Leave a Reply

