Crazy Love – Chapter 8


You know, I’ve thought about this verse several times and what it means, Luke 6:32-36 (AMP).

32If you [merely] love those who love you, what quality of credit and thanks is that to you? For even the [very] sinners love their lovers (those who love them).    33And if you are kind and good and do favors to and benefit those who are kind and good and do favors to and benefit you, what quality of credit and thanks is that to you? For even the preeminently sinful do the same.    34And if you lend money at interest to those from whom you hope to receive, what quality of credit and thanks is that to you? Even notorious sinners lend money at interest to sinners, so as to recover as much again.    35But love your enemies and be kind and do good [doing favors so that someone derives benefit from them] and lend, expecting and hoping for nothing in return but considering nothing as lost and despairing of no one; and then your recompense (your reward) will be great (rich, strong, intense, and abundant), and you will be sons of the Most High, for He is kind and charitable and good to the ungrateful and the selfish and wicked.    36So be merciful (sympathetic, tender, responsive, and compassionate) even as your Father is [all these].

“Love your enemies, do good to them, and lend to them without expecting to get anything back.” Ok, I could probably lend to them and not expect anything back, especially since that would mean I wouldn’t have to see them again. lol I might be able to do good to them, I mean if I seen one in a situation where they needed help, I would probably help them. But love them, LOVE them! What does that mean? I looked into this further and this is what I found, Romans 12:17-20 (AMP):

17Repay no one evil for evil, but take thought for what is honest and proper and noble [aiming to be above reproach] in the sight of everyone.    18If possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.    19Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave the way open for [God’s] wrath; for it is written, Vengeance is Mine, I will repay (requite), says the Lord.    20But if your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him drink; for by so doing you will heap burning coals upon his head.

I think the hardest part of this is not seeking to avenge myself. Actually, I don’t have to DO the avenging, but I sure would like to see SOMETHING done to them  by God or someone. And I want to see it now. lol I know I shouldn’t laugh, because it is the truth, but when I actually write it down, I can see how babyfied I can be. I think that is what most people feel, they want to see justice served and so do I. There in lies the most frustrating, hardest thing, to be told by God to not do anything, to be at peace with things as they are and wait on Him to do the repaying in His timing..

Here’s something else about that passage that is interesting, the phrase, “for by so doing you will heap burning coals upon his head.” That part always seems to somehow make everyone feel better about doing the good. so are we doing the good to be good? Or are we doing the good to heap coals on someones head? If we do it because we know that we are heaping coals on their head, then is that seeking revenge? Hmmm, round and round we go.

But in the end we can not hide anything from God. But then, he knew we would not be able to do good to someone who has hurt us without his help. He knew we would need to find revenge. So he sent a Helper, and that is the only way that I can do what he has asked of me. Only through the Holy Spirit. Wow! Thank you Lord for the amazing Helper!

Leave a Reply

