Crazy Love – Chapter 7


What an interesting statement the author makes, “Something is wrong when our lives make sense to unbelievers.” Now there’s a thought. He talks about Noah and how for 120 years he built and ark and warned others of the impending judgement. ONE HUNDRED TWENTY YEARS, and I have a hard time trusting God when he takes 120 DAYS longer than I think he should! What does that say about me? I’m human. But this is something that I need to remember.

It makes me think about Pastor Jim’s sermon the other day on Shadrach, Meshach, and Abendigo. They had so much faith and hope in God that they walked into the fire. Me, I waiver from time to time when I’m walking through trials and tribulations that in no way match up to real fire. I might call it walking through fire, but it isn’t even close to really walking into fire.

Another thought provoking statement by the author: “How would my life change if I actually thought of each person I came into contact with as Christ – the person driving painfully slow in front of me, the checker at the grocery store who seems more interested in chatting than ringing up my items, the member of my own family with whom I can’t seem to have a conversation and not get annoyed?”

Most of this chapter is about giving and there are many thought provoking statements in that regard. Not that this chapter didn’t touch me, it just didn’t have the profound affect that the last two did. I get the giving part and I want to give. And the giving he talks about isn’t just a financial giving, sometimes it is much easier to just write the check then it is to actually role up your sleeves and deliver what that check bought. Writing a check only takes a few minutes. I have never really been one to concern myself in regards to the financial area of life. I don’t desire being richer. I don’t really feel like I need anything more that money can buy me.

What I will personally take from this chapter are the first two statements. Can I learn to be more trusting and faithful when God’s timing isn’t the same as mine? Can I look at each person I come in contact with and see them as Christ and treat them accordingly? Those are the tough things that jumped out of this chapter for me. Those will be the things that I desire to work on.

Leave a Reply

