Crazy Love – Chapter 2


You know what the title of this Chapter is? lol You might not finish this chapter. How interesting. He does make me stop and think … How long will I be here? Do I have years, days, minutes? But honestly, in my mind, I can’t see an end. First, I don’t see an end to my life, it just doesn’t seem real. It doesn’t “feel” like I will die any day now. And I do take life for granted. Just like his illustration, he says that the only people who give much though to he kidney are the people who’s kidney isn’t working. It’s the truth, I don’t EVER think about any of my organs, unless the give me a little pain. I just assume that they will always work. But in reality, one day, they really will cease to work. It’s not if, it’s about when. If I could truly grasp that thought, what would I do differently on a day to day basis? That will take a little bit to sink in and process.

The author points out that Worry and Stress are really just ways to say it’s ok to sin. Why? Because, we are commanded to not be anxious and to rejoice in the Lord always in Phil 4:4-6. I’m not much to stress or worry, but wow, that sure is an intersting way to look at it. He’s right. Worry is just a way to say that you don’t trust God.  And stress is a way to “say the things we are involved in are important enough to merit our impatience, or lack of grace toward others, and our tight grip of control.”

I’m not going to recount his example of being in a movie as an extra for two seconds. But the author is so right when he says that “so many of us think and live like the movie of life is all about us.” But the whole point to my life is to point to God. This  movie is all His. It’s His world. And everything in it is His gift.

What? I guess it’s true … In about fifty-sixty years no one will remember me. It’s probably true. I would be 90-100 years old IF I was living. My youngest son would be 65-75 so he would remember me if he was living. But in 75 years, I don’t think there would be anyone remembering me. They may KNOW of me, but they wouldn’t be remembering me.

The author points out that, “When we face the holy God, “nice” isn’t what we will be concerned with, and it definitely isn’t what He will be thinking about. Any compliments you received on earth will be gone; all that will be left for you is the truth.” God knows the truth whether I want to accept and acknowledge it or not.

The author also says, “we need to stop living selfish lives, forgetful of our God.” Oh so true. My mom read something today that I would like to remember and that goes along with this chapter.

“Its not what you gather, but what you scatter that really counts in life.” Now that, is the truth.

Leave a Reply

